New User posted their first comment

IPL 2017: 5 players with centuries for multiple IPL teams

Modified 01 May 2017, 01:38 IST
Top 5 / Top 10

#1 Adam Gilchrist (Deccan Chargers and Kings XI Punjab)

Adam Gilchrist Australia Deccan Chargers Cricket
Gilchrist led Deccan Chargers to IPL glory in 2009 before moving to Kings XI Punjab in 2011

Gilchrist redefined the role of the wicketkeeper-batsman in the modern game and the Australian was someone who was tailor-made for the T20 format. Someone who liked to take the attack to the opposition, Gilchrist was one of the earliest IPL centurions, scoring a hundred for Deccan Chargers against Mumbai Indians in the opening edition of the T20 tournament. 

Having been set a target of 155 by Mumbai, Gilchrist made light work of the run chase with some breathtaking batting. He brought up his century off just 42 balls and remained unbeaten on 109 as Deccan Chargers won the match with 10 wickets in hand and eight overs to spare. 

Gilchrist led Deccan to the IPL title in 2009 but left for Kings XI Punjab at the end of the following season where he was an instant hit with the fans and players. He made an immediate impact in his first season (2011) scoring an unbeaten 55-ball 106 against Royal Challengers Bangalore at Dharamsala helping Punjab to a mammoth total of 232 batting first.

They went on to win the match by a margin of 111 runs with Gilchrist, as expected, picking up the Man of the Match award.  

TeamOppositionDate RunsBallsSRVenueResult
Deccan Chargers Mumbai Indians 27 April 2008109*47231.91Dr DY Patil Sports Academy, MumbaiDeccan Chargers won by 10 wickets
Kings XI PunjabRoyal Challengers Bangalore 17 May 201110655192.72HPCA Stadium, DharamsalaKings XI Punjab won by 111 runs
Published 01 May 2017, 01:25 IST
Fetching more content...
App download animated image Get the free App now
❤️ Favorites Edit