Write & Earn
Favorites Edit

IPL 2017: Highest run scorers, wicket-takers after Kings XI Punjab vs Sunrisers Hyderabad

Leading wicket takers and run scorers after Kings XI Punjab vs Sunrisers Hyderabad.

Stats 29 Apr 2017, 10:02 IST
Gautam Gambhir has overtaken David Warner in the leading run-scorers chart

Momentum is the most crucial aspect of any team sport; teams with a winning momentum, feel ready for every match, and players are confident to take on any challenge while the fans are infused with a different kind of energy. That’s the case with Sunrisers HyderabadKolkata Knight Riders and Mumbai Indians in this season of the IPL. 

SRH and KKR both played yesterday and the teams showed why they are at the top of the points table. Kolkata Knight Riders thrashed the Delhi Daredevils by 7 wickets in the first match of the day. Captain Gautam Gambhir and continued to lead from the front while scoring an unbeaten 71 to take his team home.

The Sunrisers Hyderabad batted first in the next match to post a total of 207/3 in 20 overs. Their bowlers bowled with their hearts on their sleeves to defend the total on a flat wicket and ended up doing that by 26 runs. Rashid Khan and Bhuvneshwar Kumar were the stars of the day, with the former also getting the Man of the Match award.

Let us look at the leading run scorers and wicket takers after Kinds XI Punjab vs Sunrisers Hyderabad.

Leading run scorers

PositionPlayerMatchesInningsRunsAverageStrike Rate100s50sHighest
1Gautam Gambhir
2David Warner
3Robin Uthappa
4Shikhar Dhawan
5Suresh Raina
6Hashim Amla
7Sanju Samson
8Steve Smith
9Brendon McCullum
10Nitish Rana

Leading wicket takers

PositionPlayerMatchesWicketsOversRuns5 WicketsEconomyBest Figures
1Bhuvneshwar Kumar
8183220316.345 for 19
2Chris Morris
7122519107.644 for 26
3Mitchell McClenaghan
8123227908.723 for 24
4Andrew Tye
5122013216.65 for 17
5Nathan Coulter-Nile
41114.211808.233 for 21
6Rashid Khan
8113221106.593 for 19
7Yuzvendra Chahal
81026.318807.093 for 16
8Chris Woakes
9102826309.393 for 6
9Imran Tahir
8103126408.523 for 28
10Umesh Yadav
792321109.174 for 33

Gautam Gambhir has overtaken Suresh Raina to claim the orange cap once again. He looks in great touch and has been excellent for the Kolkata Knight Riders so far. He hasn’t disappointed with the bat and he hasn’t disappointed on the field.

His decisions as a captain have struck gold more often than not and he looks like he wants to conquer his third IPL trophy with KKR this season. As always, he even declared that his Man of the Match prize money would go to CPRF jawans.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar doesn’t want to give up the purple cap. The four-wicket difference between him and the second-placed bowler has now increased to 6 wickets, thanks to the couple he scalped in his last game. The biggest batsmen of Kings XI Punjab were sent back to the shed by Kumar. It looks unlikely that anyone else will overtake Kumar’s tally with his current form! 

Let us take a look at the points table now:

PositionTeamPlayedWonLostNo resultNet Run RatePointsLast ResultNext Opponent
1 Kolkata Knight Riders97201.22314Beat DD by 7 wicketsSRH
2 Mumbai Indians86200.51412Lost to RPS by 3 runsGL
3 Sunrisers Hyderabad95310.58811Beat KXIP by 26 runsKKR
4 Rising Pune Supergiant8440-0.6668Lost to KKR by 6 wicketsRCB
5 Gujarat Lions8350-0.366Beat RCB by 7 wicketsMI
6 Kings XI Punjab8350-0.4486Lost to SRH by 26 wicketsDD
7 Royal Challengers Bangalore9261-1.4015Lost to GL by 7 wicketsRPS
8 Delhi Daredevils72500.5144Lost to KKR by 7 wicketsSRH
Fetching more content...