⚡️ Get the free App now
Favorites Edit

IPL 2017: Purple Cap holders through the seasons

  • Taking a look at the Purple Cap winners across IPL seasons.
Top 5 / Top 10
Modified 03 Apr 2017, 10:44 IST

2009 – RP Singh, Deccan Chargers (Wickets – 23, Matches – 16)

Deccan Chargers v Royal Challengers Bangalore - IPL : News Photo
RP Singh picked up 23 wickets in 16 matches

If it was Warne who was the chief architect of Rajasthan Royal’s victory in the inaugural IPL season, then it was his Aussie teammate Adam Gilchrist whose astute captaincy ensured a victory for the Deccan Chargers in the 2009 season. 

But this would not have been possible without the exploits of RP Singh. With 23 wickets from 16 matches, he ensured that the Purple Cap went to a left-arm medium pacer for the second consecutive year. 

His best figures of 4-22 came against the Kolkata Knight Riders. He also had an excellent outing in the finals against Royal Challengers Bangalore and took 1 wicket for 16 runs in an economic spell of four overs. 

This played a big part in the Chargers defending a small total of 143 runs. They eventually won by six runs

Published 03 Apr 2017, 10:44 IST
Fetching more content...