IPL 2019: 4 players who started with Delhi Capitals but won IPL title with other franchises

Image result for gautam gambhir ipl Sportskeeda
Pranay Neve
Modified 25 Mar 2019
Top 5 / Top 10

Inaugurated in 2008, Indian Premier League is now in its twelfth edition. In these 12 years of delightful journey, the cash-rich league saw many champions over the years. Chennai Super Kings and Mumbai Indians are the most successful franchises in IPL with three titles to their name. On the other hand, Delhi Daredevils (now Delhi Capitals) hasn't won a single IPL title thus far. Royal Challengers Bangalore and Kings XI Punjab are also in the same list, but Delhi Capitals has failed even to qualify for the finals. 

Delhi Capitals have always had quality players but struggled to utilize them to their fullest. Delhi started off well, as they qualified for the playoffs in the inaugural season. In 2009 and 2012, they were the table toppers, yet failed to qualify for the finals. Since then, they have never qualified for the playoffs. Rather, they have finished last or second last in the league stages.

Here's the list of the top 4 players, who started their IPL journey with Delhi Capitals but tasted victory while playing for the other franchise

#4 Dinesh Karthik

Dinesh Karthik played a major role to help Mumbai Indians lift the cup for the first time
Dinesh Karthik played a major role to help Mumbai Indians lift the cup for the first time

One of the most underrated players in Indian cricket, Dinesh Karthik made his IPL debut for Delhi Capitals in 2008. Playing as wicketkeeper-batsman, the 34-year-old scored just 145 runs at an average of 24.16 in the inaugural season. In 2010, he managed 288 runs at a decent average of 36.

In 2011, Karthik was bought by Kings XI Punjab for INR 4.77 crores, making him the second most expensive buys of the season. But due to his poor run in the season, the 34-year-old was traded to Mumbai Indians in 2012.

The 2013 season was the most productive season for Dinesh Karthik, as he smashed 510 runs which is still his best in the cash-rich league. With all his efforts, the franchise won IPL title for the first time under the captaincy of Rohit Sharma.

In 2018, Dinesh Karthik was handed the captaincy of Kolkata Knight Riders. He eventually took them to the playoffs and is now ready to roar in the twelfth edition of VIVO IPL.

Follow Sportskeeda for all the updates on IPL schedule, news, points table, live scores, orange cap, purple cap and fantasy tips.

1 / 4 NEXT
Published 24 Mar 2019
Fetching more content...
App download animated image Get the free App now