⚡️ Get the free App now
Favorites Edit

Top 5 captains with the worst IPL record

  • Captaincy in T20 cricket can be challenging and a thankless job.
Top 5 / Top 10
Modified 29 Mar 2017, 10:39 IST
PRETORIA, SOUTH AFRCA - OCTOBER 13:  Mahela Jayawardene of the Daredevils is bowled by Sunil Narine (not pictured) as wicketkeeper Manvinder Bisla (L) of the Knight Riders reacts during the Karbonn Smart CLT20 Group A match between Kolkata Knight Riders (IPL) and Delhi Daredevils (IPL) at SuperSport Park on October 13, 2012 in Pretoria, South Africa.  (Photo by Lee Warren/Gallo Images/Getty Images)
Mahela Jayawardene could not be as successful as captain as he was with the bat.

The tenth season of the biggest T20 extravaganza, IPL 2017, is all set to get underway on the 5th of April. The T20 format challenges the captain as he has to be on top of his leadership all the time as the game can change within a matter of just a few balls. The cash-rich Indian domestic T20 competition has seen great success stories being scripted by inspirational leaders.

Shane Warne played an instrumental role in taking the underdogs Rajasthan Royals to the title in the inaugural edition.

Also Read: 5 most successful IPL captains

Kolkata Knight Riders only became serious contenders after they handed over the captaincy to Gautam Gambhir, under whom they went on to win the IPL twice. David Warner almost single-handedly took the Sunrisers Hyderabad to the summit in the 2016 edition. And Mahendra Singh Dhoni does not need an introduction when it comes to talking about successful captains. 

We are all aware of the successful captains who have led their teams to titles in the past. The others who were not able to deliver the goods with the captain’s hat are seldom spoken about. There has also been much talk of foreign captains and whether or not they have been more successful than their Indian counterparts.

This list of the top 5 captains with the worst IPL captaincy record somewhat gives us a clue.

(Criteria: Captain in at least 10 matches; win percentage excludes no results and treats ties as half a win)

#5 Mahela Jayawardene

Teams: Kings XI Punjab, Kochi Tuskers Kerala, Delhi Daredevils

Matches: 30; Wins: 10; Losses: 19; Tie: 1; Win %: 35.00%


A prolific run-getter, the former captain of Sri Lanka, Mahela Jayawardene, could not replicate the success he had while leading his country in the IPL. He led the Punjab franchise in the 2010 edition and the team ended the season in the last position.

Leading the now defunct Kochi Tuskers Kerala in 2010, his team ended 8th out of the 10 teams. When he was at the helm of affairs at Delhi Daredevils, he managed just 6 victories and 11 losses in the 18 games spread across the 2012 and 2013 seasons.

1 / 5 NEXT
Published 29 Mar 2017, 10:39 IST
Fetching more content...