Apex Legends

Last Modified Mar 08, 2022 08:47 GMT

Apex Legends is a free-to-play battle royale game published by Electronic Arts and developed by Respawn Entertainment. It was released in February 2019 for Microsoft Windows, PlayStation 4, and Xbox One, and in March 2021 for Nintendo Switch. The game is cross-platform compatible.

Apex Legends takes place in the same sci-fi universe as the developer's Titanfall series, with several Titanfall characters appearing as minor characters or playable Legends. Before the match, players form two- or three-player squads and choose from a roster of pre-set characters with unique abilities known as "Legends."

The game features two gameplay modes: "Battle Royale" and "Arenas". Up to 20 three-person squads or 30 two-person duos land on an island and search for weapons and supplies before attempting to defeat all other players in combat. The latter is a 3v3 team deathmatch.

The first season of the game began on March 19, 2019. Each new season is supposed to bring the release of a new playable character, as well as new weapons and cosmetic items that can be purchased. In season 12 (present), Defiance, Mad Maggie, an old friend of Fuse's who was responsible for the map destruction in Season 8 and briefly took over the Apex games, is introduced. It had approximately 100 million players by April 2021, making it one of the most played video games of all time in terms of player count.

Platforms available

It was released for Microsoft Windows, PlayStation 4, Xbox One, and Nintendo Switch. Apex Legends Mobile has also been announced, with a full release date of 2022 on Android and iOS, as well as a native version of the game for Xbox Series X and Series S, as well as the PlayStation 5.

How to Purchase/Download

Free-to-play and can be downloaded from ea.com