NFL Honors 2023: Predictions for the NFL MVP, Rookies of the Year, and more

Kansas City Chiefs Media Availability
Patrick Mahomes #15 of the Kansas City Chiefs speaks to the media during the Kansas City Chiefs media availability prior to Super Bowl LIV at the JW Marriott Turnberry

The 2023 NFL Honors are around the corner, and the best players of the 2022 regular season are about to receive their awards. These awards are handed over to the best players in the league, and you are bound to see some famous names there.

The countdown has begun, and here are our predictions for the NFL MVP Award, the Rookie of the Year Award, and much more.

Prediction for the 2023 NFL MVP Award

The NFL MVP Award is given to the best player of the year's regular season. It is an award based on merit, voted by associated press members. Here is a short list of players most likely to win the prestigious award.

  1. Patrick Mahomes, QB, Kansas City Chiefs
  2. Jalen Hurts, QB, Philadelphia Eagles
  3. Joe Burrow, QB, Cincinnati Bengals
  4. Justin Jefferson, WR, Minnesota Vikings
  5. Josh Allen, QB, Buffalo Bills

Four of the above-mentioned MVP favorites are quarterbacks, and that should not come as a surprise. In fact, the last non-quarterback to win the NFL MVP Award was running back Adrian Peterson, who won in 2011.

This year won't be different, as all four quarterbacks mentioned above have been phenomenal all season long.

Patrick Mahomes led the Kansas City Chiefs to the first seed in the AFC. Further along the line, he willed them to a Conference Championship game.

Jalen Hurts was just as stunning, as the Oklahoma State University quarterback led his less fancied Philadelphia Eagles side to the first seed in the NFC Conference.

Joe Burrow did what Joe Burrow does. He remained the glue to the Bengals' turbo-powered offense.

Justin Jefferson and Josh Allen were decent, taking their teams to the playoffs following great regular-season campaigns.

Favorite to win: Patrick Mahomes is the favorite to win the 2023 NFL MVP Award, and it isn't even close. Mahomes was head and shoulders above every quarterback in the league, leading all shot callers in passing yards, touchdowns, and QBR. He is a significant favorite to come home with just his second NFL MVP Award.

Prediction for the 2023 NFL Rookies of the Year Award

There are two Rooky of the Year awards, the Offensive Rookie of the Year and the Defensive Rookie of the Year. Here is a list of favorites for both awards.

Offensive Rookie of the Year Award favorites:

  1. Garrett Wilson, WR, New York Jets
  2. Kenneth Walker III, RB, Seattle Seahawks
  3. Chris Olave, WR, New Orleans Saints
  4. Dameon Pierce, RB, Houston Texans
  5. Brock Purdy, QB, San Francisco 49ers

This season could have been better for rookies on the offensive side of the ball, and as a result, there's no clear frontrunner for the Offensive Rookie of the year. Several rookies blew hot and cold for the season.

Christian Watson comes to mind, as at some point, he looked like an outside option for the Pro Bowl, but he eventually tapered off.

Brock Purdy was excellent, but he has at least ten starts for the regular season. The rest were alright, but none were phenomenal.

Favorite to win: Despite the New York Jets quarterback's best attempts, Garrett Wilson remains the most productive offensive talent in his draft class. Wilson was cooking, as the Jets wide receiver led all rookies in receptions (83) and receiving yards (1,103) and was tied for third in receiving touchdowns (4).

Defensive Rookie of the Year Award favorites:

  1. Sauce Gardner, CB, New York Jets
  2. Aidan Hutchinson, DE, Detroit Lions
  3. Tariq Woolen, CB, Seattle Seahawks
  4. Kayvon Thibodeaux, OL, New York Giants
  5. Jalen Pitre, Safety, Houston Texans

Defensive rookies outdid themselves this season, and we saw some dominant defensive efforts from the backmen. However, among the top performances, the above five are the cream of the crop.

Favorite to win: Pro Bowler and wide receiver nullifier Sauce Gardner is the favorite to win the award. Gardner led the entire league in passes defended (20) and earned a spot in the Pro Bowl. He also had two interceptions and 75 combined tackles this season.

Rapid predictions for other NFL Honors

There are some other honors available for winning in the 2023 award season. They are the Offensive Player of the Year Award, Defensive Player of the Year Award, Comeback Player of the Year Award, and Coach of the Year Award. Here are our rapid predictions as to who will win the awards.

Offensive Player of the Year: Justin Jefferson, WR, Minnesota Vikings

Defensive Player of the Year: Micah Parsons, DB, Dallas Cowboys

Coach of the Year: Doug Pederson, Jacksonville Jaguars

Comeback Player of the Year: Geno Smith, QB, Seattle Seahawks

Poll : Who is your MVP pick for Super Bowl LVII?

Patrick Mahomes

Jalen Hurts

Travis Kelce

A.J. Brown

2631 votes

Quick Links

Edited by Piyush Bisht
Be the first one to comment