⚡️ Get the free App now
Favorites Edit

Deepti Sharma


Deepthi Sharma is an Indian professional cricketer who plays for the Indian National Women’s cricket team. She is an all-rounder. She is a left-handed batsman and right -arm off break bowler.


Deepthi was born on 24th August 1997 in Agra, Uttar Pradesh. She is the youngest of her seven siblings. She started going to the ground with her elder brother Sumit, a former fast bowler who played for Uttar Pradesh. Eventually, she started attending the practice sessions with her brother at the Eklavya Sports Stadium.

In one of these practice sessions, she caught the eye of Hemalata Kala, former Indian cricketer and the then chairperson of the BCCI’s women’s selection panel. Deepthi kept attending the auditions for the next few years but was overlooked because of her low age. But Hemalata Kala made sure that Deepthi got ample practice and experience by taking her to various Railway Cricket Camps.

Slowly her skills and progress caught the attention of a few other selectors like Rita Dey and she started getting chances to play for the domestic team and for India A side as well.

National Call-Up

Deepthi made her international cricket debut in an ODI against South on 28th November 2014 at the age of 17. She made her T20I debut two years later against Australia.

Deepthi was the youngest player in the Indian women’s team that played in the ICC Women’s World Cup 2017 in England. She has also been selected in the Indian squad for the 2018 ICC Women’s World Twenty20 tournament in the West Indies.


She and Poonam Raut were involved in a record opening partnership of 320 runs against South Africa in the quadrangular series on 15 may 2017. It was the first ever 300 plus partnership in women’s ODI cricket history. This beat both the standing women’s record of 229 and the standing men’s record of 286. Deepthi scored 188 in 160 balls, the second highest score in women’s ODI cricket after Belinda Clark’s 229.

She was awarded the Jagmohan Dalmiya Award for Best Domestic Senior Women’s Cricket by the BCCI in June 2018.

Fetching more content...