GT vs SRH Head to Head

Last Modified Mar 20, 2024 11:23 IST

Gujarat Titans and Sunrisers Hyderabad have played in the Indian Premier League (IPL) on a couple of instances. Both teams have one at least once in the IPL 2022, where the Gujarat Titans were crowned champions of the league in their first season.

The interesting part is that both teams won the match while chasing the target.

SRH vs GT, April 11, 2022

It was a treat for the fans to watch Sunrisers Hyderabad, who were languishing at the bottom of the points table, hand table-toppers Gujarat Titans their first defeat in IPL 2022.

SRH captain Kane Williamson won the toss and asked Gujarat Titans to bat first on a high-scoring venue at Dr DY Patil Stadium. SRH pace duo of Bhuvneshwar Kumar and T Natarajan dealt early blows with the wickets of Shubman Gill and Sai Sudarshan in the powerplay.

A 50-run partnership between captain Hardik Pandya and Abhinav Manohar was impetus for the Titans. Bhuvneshwar and Natarajan bowled well in the last two overs as just 14 runs came in that period and Titans lost three wickets.

Both the fast bowlers ended up with two wickets as skipper Hardik Pandya was unbeaten on 50 to push his side to a defendable score of 162/7 from their 20 overs.

SRH opener Abhishek Sharma struggled in the start of their innings as he managed 7 runs after facing his first 14 balls. He found his breakthrough in the final over of the powerplay bowled by Lockie Ferguson.

The left-handed batter slammed four boundaries in the over, with three on the trot, to score 17 from that over. He hit Rashid Khan for a couple of boundaries before getting caught in the ninth over against the same bowler.

Williamson struck a fine fifty (57 runs in 46 balls) with his innings laced by four sixes. After smashing successive sixes against his counterpart Hardik in the 13th over, the Titans skipper got the wicket of Williamson later in the innings.

Nicholas Pooran (34 runs in 18 balls) and Aiden Markram (12 runs in 8 balls) ensured the Sunrisers were off the chase with eight wickets and five balls to spare.

GT vs SRH, April 27, 2022

It was a game of thrill, excitement and management of nerves. Gujarat Titans chased a huge total as the match went down to the wire.

Abhishek Sharma once again took the charge against the GT bowlers. He stitched a 96-run partnership with South Africa's Aiden Markram. Both batters hit determined half-centuries to set the tone for SRH.

Mumbai batter Shashank Singh hammered 25 off six balls, including two sixes in the final two balls off Lockie Ferguson to help SRH post 195/6.

Titans wicketkeeper Wriddhiman Saha gave the team a flying start with a flurry of boundaries as they scored 59 without any loss in the powerplay.

As Saha was on the carnage with the bat, SRH pace sensation Umran Malik wreaked havoc in the opposition camp. With his raw pace and bounce, he rattled the Titans top-order, including the scalp of Saha on 68.

Malik went on to bag his maiden five-wicket haul with the dismissals of David Miller and Abhinav Manohar in the 16th over.

With Titans needing 47 runs in 18 balls to win, Rashid Khan and Rahul Tewatia dispatched the ball in the stands against the likes of Bhuvneshwar Kumar and T Natarajan.

Marco Jansen was left with 22 runs to defend in the final over. Tewatia smashed a six on the first ball and rotated the strike to Rashid on the very next ball. Rashid slammed three sixes in the final four balls against the South African left-arm pacer to pull off a spectacular chase.

GT vs SRH Head to Head Stats

Matches Played02
GT Won01
SRH Won 01
Tie 0
No Result0

Match DateMatch VenueWinnerWon By
April 11, 2022SRH vs GTDr DY Patil StadiumSunrisers Hyderabad8 Wickets
April 27, 2022GT vs SRHWankhede StadiumGujarat Titans5 Wickets

Most Runs: Abhishek Sharma (97)

Most Wickets: Umran Malik (6 wickets)

Highest Total: Gujarat Titans - 199/5

Lowest Total: Gujarat Titans - 162/7

FAQs on GT vs SRH Head-to-Head

Q. Who has scored the most number of runs in GT vs SRH Head-to-Head?

A. In GT vs SRH games, Shubman Gill has scored the most number of runs, making 130 runs for the Gujarat Titans. 

Q. Who has taken the most number of wickets in GT vs SRH Head-to-Head?

A. In GT vs SRH games, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Mohammed Shami have taken the joint-most number of wickets, bagging 7 each for the Sunrisers Hyderabad and Gujarat Titans respectively.

Q. Which team is more successful in IPL, GT, or SRH?

A. Both GT and SRH have been equally successful in terms of winning the trophy, with both the teams having a trophy in their cabinet, winning in 2022 and 2016 respectively.

Q. How many centuries have been scored in GT vs SRH Head-to-Head?

A. Shubman Gill is the sole centurion in matches involving GT and SRH, with the opener scoring 101 off 58 balls against SRH.

Q. When will GT and SRH meet each other in IPL 2024?

A. GT and SRH will face each other on the 31st of March in IPL 2024.

Q. Who will captain GT and SRH in IPL 2024?

A. GT will be led by Shubman Gill and SRH will be led by Pat Cummins in IPL 2024.