New User posted their first comment

IPL 2020 auction to be held on 19th December in Kolkata

Indian Premier League Auction
Indian Premier League Auction
Aakash Arya
Modified 01 Oct 2019, 15:08 IST

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced that the auction for IPL 2020 will be held on 19th December, 2019, in Kolkata. ESPNcricinfo has reported that the auction will be held after the trading window closes on 14th November, and that the teams have been informed of this. The franchises are set to disband next year before the mega auction in 2021.

The sum of Rs 82 crore allotted for auctions for IPL 2019 has been increased to Rs 85 crore for IPL 2020. The teams will be eligible to use the money left unspent in last year’s auction, apart from the additional purse of Rs 3 crore. 

Indian Premier League Auction
Indian Premier League Auction

Funds remaining for each team ahead of IPL 2020 auction

Royal Challengers Bangalore - Rs 1.80 crore

Chennai Super Kings - Rs 3.2 crore

Mumbai Indians - Rs 3.05 crore

Kings XI Punjab - Rs 3.7 crore

Sunrisers Hyderabad - Rs 5.30 crore

Kolkata Knight Riders - Rs 6.05 crore


Rajasthan Royals - Rs 7.15 crore

Delhi Capitals - Rs 8.2 crore

Fans during IPL
Fans during IPL

During the trading window, Delhi Capitals, led by Shreyas Iyer, have already bought Mayank Markande from Mumbai Indians and let go of West Indies all-rounder Sherfance Rutherford. 

In last year's auction, Jaydev Unadkat was sold to Rajasthan Royals for Rs 8.40 crore while Sam Curran was sold to Kings XI Punjab for Rs 7.2 crore. The 2019 auctions had a record number of states represented in the auctions with players from Arunachal Pradesh, Bihar, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Sikkim, Uttarakhand and Union Territory Puducherry present.

The IPL 2019 auctions also saw a number of domestic and international heavyweights going unsold. The prominent among them were: Manoj Tiwary, Cheteshwar Pujara, Adam Zampa, Alex Hales, Brendon McCullum, Martin Guptill, Chris Woakes, Usman Khawaja, Hazratullah Zazai, Reeza Hendricks, Shaun Marsh, Saurabh Tiwary, Hashim Amla, James Neesham, Angelo Mathews, Corey Anderson, Jason Holder, Luke Ronchi, Mushfiqur Rahim, Kusal Perera, Vinay Kumar, Dale Steyn, Kane Richardson, Abhimanyu Mithun, Morne Morkel, Joe Denly and Rilee Rossouw.

Published 01 Oct 2019, 13:33 IST
Fetching more content...
Get the free App now
❤️ Favorites Edit