Hat trick in IPL

Last Modified May 04, 2023 16:09 IST

Cricket is a gentleman’s game, this is one of the most popular lines in the sports fraternity. Well, talking of cricket, the debate surrounding the topic of whether the game is of the bowlers or batters is still unsettled.

338157.3.jpg (1280×853)

The answer can never be one sided as both aspects are equally contributing and exciting to watch. On one side, there's a run feast while on the other, there’s the delightful sound of the ball hitting the timber.

But do you know what’s even better, getting not just 1, not two but three wickets back-to-back! Yes, we’re discussing one of bowler’s greatest milestones, the hat-trick!

Over the years we’ve seen some of the most amazing and dramatic dismissals in the Indian Premier League and when they come one after another, it's just as crazy as it can get.

1597639052_mishra.jpg (510×340)

So here we are, listing the most number of hat-tricks picked by a bowler in the IPL alongside all the times we saw 3 batsmen walking back in a span of 3 deliveries!

Most Hat Tricks Stats are as follows:-

156862.3.jpg (1280×720)

S.No.PlayerTeamBowling FiguresAgainstYearPlayers
1Lakshmipathy BalajiChennai Super Kings5/24Punjab Kings2008Irfan Pathan, Piyush Chawla, VRV Singh
2Amit MishraDelhi Capitals5/17Deccan Chargers2008Ravi Teja, Pragyan Ojha, RP Singh
3Makhaya NtiniChennai Super Kings4/21Kolkata Knight Riders2008Sourav Ganguly, Debabrata Das, David Hussey
4Yuvraj SinghPunjab Kings3/22Royal Challengers Bangalore2009Robin Uthappa, Jacques Kallis, Mark Boucher
5Rohit SharmaDeccan Chargers4/6Mumbai Indians2009Abishek Nayar, Harbhajan Singh, JP Duminy
6Yuvraj SinghPunjab Kings3/13Deccan Chargers2009Herschelle Gibbs, Andrew Symonds, Venugopal Rao
7Praveen KumarRoyal Challengers Bangalore3/18Rajasthan Royals2010Damien Martyn, Sumit Narwal, Paras Dogra
8Amit MishraDeccan Chargers4/9Punjab Kings2011Ryan McLaren, Mandeep Singh, Ryan Harris
9Ajit ChandilaRajasthan Royals4/13Pune Warriors India2012Jesse Rider, Sourav Ganguly, Robin Uthappa
10Sunil NarineKolkata Knight Riders3/33Punjab Kings2013David Hussey, Azhar Mahmood, Gurkeerat Singh

List of all Hat Tricks in IPL

103038.2.jpg (1280×1565)

Sr. No.PlayerTeamVenueVictimsAgainstSeason
1Lakshmipathy BalajiChennai Super KingsChennaiIK Pathan, PP Chawla, VRV SinghPunjab Kings2008
2Amit MishraDelhi CapitalsDelhiDB Ravi Teja, PP Ojha, RP SinghDeccan Chargers2008
3M NtiniChennai Super KingsKolkataSC Ganguly, DB Das, DJ HusseyKolkata Knight Riders2008
4Yuvraj SinghPunjab KingsDurbanRV Uthappa, JH Kallis, MV BoucherRoyal Challengers Bangalore2009
5Rohit SharmaDeccan ChargersCenturionAM Nayar, Harbhajan Singh, JP DuminyMumbai Indians2009
6Yuvraj SinghPunjab KingsJohannesburgHH Gibbs, A Symonds, Y Venugopal RaoDeccan Chargers2009
7Praveen KumarRoyal Challengers BangaloreBangaloreDR Martyn, S Narwal, P DograRajasthan Royals2010
8Amit MishraDeccan ChargersDharamsalaR McLaren, Mandeep Singh, RJ HarrisPunjab Kings2011
9Ajit ChandilaRajasthan RoyalsJaipurJD Ryder, SC Ganguly, RV UthappaPune Warriors2012
10Sunil NarineKolkata Knight RidersMohaliDJ Hussey, Azhar Mahmood, Gurkeerat SinghPunjab Kings2013
11Amit MishraSunrisers HyderabadPuneB Kumar, R Sharma, AB DindaPune Warriors2013
12Pravin TambeRajasthan RoyalsAhmedabadMK Pandey, YK Pathan, RN ten DoeschateKolkata Knight Riders2014
13Shane WatsonRajasthan RoyalsAhmedabadS Dhawan, MC Henriques, KV SharmaSunrisers Hyderabad2014
14Axar PatelPunjab KingsRajkotKD Karthik, DJ Bravo, RA JadejaGujrat Lions2016
15Samuel BadreeRoyal Challengers BangaloreBengaluruPA Patel, MJ McClenaghan, RG SharmaMumbai Indians2017
16Andrew TyeGujrat LionsRajkotAnkit Sharma, MK Tiwary, SN ThakurRising Pune Supergiants2017
17Jaydev UnadkatRising Pune SupergiantsHyderabad (Deccan)Bipul Sharma, Rashid Khan, B KumarSunrisers Hyderabad2017
18Sam CurranPunjab KingsChandigarhHV Patel, K Rabada, S LamichhaneDelhi Capitals2019
19Shreyas GopalRajasthan RoyalsBengaluruV Kohli, AB de Villiers, MP StoinisRoyal Challengers Bangalore2019
20Harshal PatelRoyal Challengers BangaloreDubai (DSC)HH Pandya, KA Pollard, RD ChaharMumbai Indians2021
21Yuzvendra ChahalRajasthan RoyalsBrabourneSS Iyer, Shivam Mavi, PJ CumminsKolkata Knight Riders2022
balaji-2008-1430813752.jpg (560×350)


Q. Who has the most number of IPL hattricks?

Ans. Amit Mishra has the most number of IPL hat-tricks in the history of IPL as he has got 3 hat-tricks to his name.

Q. Who took the first hat-trick of the IPL?

Ans. Lakshmipathy Balaji, playing for Chennai Super Kings took the first-ever hat-trick in the history of IPL while facing Punjab Kings in 2008.

Q. Which team has most hattrick in IPL?

Ans. The Rajasthan Royals franchise have 5 hat-tricks to their name which is the highest by any team in the IPL. Here are the bowlers who grabbed three wickets in three balls for the Royals:

  1. Ajit Chandila v PWI, 2012.

  2. Praveen Tambe v KKR, 2014.

  3. Shane Watson v SRH, 2014.

  4. Shreyas Gopal v RCB, 2019.

  5. Yuzvendra Chahal v KKR, 2022

Q. Which bowler has 3 hattrick in IPL?

Ans. Veteran leggie Amit Mishra has the record for three hat-tricks in the IPL. He took the hat-tricks in the 2008, 2011 and the 2013 season to achieve this feat.

Q. Who is CSK first hat-trick?

Ans. Laksmipathy Balaji was the first-ever bowler to pick up a hat-trick for the Super Kings.

Q. Did tambe take hat-trick in IPL?

Ans. Yes, Pravin Tambe took a hat-trick while playing for the Rajasthan Royals in 2014. He did this by sending back Manish Pandey, Yusuf Pathan, and Ryan ten Doeschate of Kolkata Knight Riders in a 2014 match.

Q. Who took hat-trick 2022 IPL?

Ans. Rajasthan Royals leg-spinner Yuzvendra Chahal trapped Kolkata Knight Riders’ Shreyas Iyer in front to get rid of him via LBW off the fourth delivery of the 17th over. The next two deliveries saw Shivam Mavi, and Pat Cummins walking back to the pavilion after getting out caught. This gave Chahal his first ever hat-trick in IPL and the 21st overall in the competition.