Lowest Team Totals in IPL History

Last Modified May 14, 2023 18:39 IST

Lowest Team Totals in IPL History

SR No.TeamScoreOppositionVenueMatch Date
1Royal Challengers Bangalore49Kolkata Knight RidersEden Gardens, KolkataApril 23, 2017
2Rajasthan Royals 58Royal Challengers BangaloreNewlands, Cape TownApril 18, 2009
3Rajasthan Royals 59Royal Challengers BangaloreSawai Mansingh StadiumMay 14, 2023
4Delhi Daredevils66Mumbai IndiansFeroz Shah Kotla Stadium, DelhiMay 6, 2017
5Delhi Daredevils67Kings XI PunjabPCA IS Bindra Stadium, MohaliApril 30, 2017
6Kolkata Knight Riders67Mumbai IndiansWankhede Stadium, MumbaiMay 16, 2008
7Royal Challengers Bangalore70Chennai Super KingsMA Chidambaram Stadium, ChennaiMarch 23, 2019
8Royal Challengers Bangalore70Rajasthan RoyalsM.Chinnaswamy Stadium, BengaluruApril 26, 2014
9Kings XI Punjab 73Rising Pune SupergiantsMaharashtra Cricket Association Stadium, PuneMay 14, 2017
10Kochi Tuskers Kerala74Deccan ChargersNehru Stadium, KochiApril 27, 2011

The Indian Premier League has set the impression of serving high-scoring thrillers over the years. It goes with the antithesis of batter's paradise and bowler's graveyard.

But that's not the case on every occasion as batting units have faltered against formidable bowling sides. Cricket or sports in general loves to throw surprises at its spectators.

When fans turn out in huge numbers with the expectations of batters dominating with huge totals, sometimes they do have to settle with a low-scoring game.

Chris Gayle's marvellous 175* against now-defunct Pune Warriors India propelled Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) to 263/5, the highest total in the IPL history was etched in the record books on April 23, 2013 at the M.Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru.

Interestingly, four years later on the very same date, RCB recorded the lowest total in IPL history at Eden Gardens in Kolkata.

RCB skipper Virat Kohli won the toss and asked their opponents to bat first. Sunil Narine scored briskly against a team he loves to bat. The West Indies left-hander hit 34 runs off 17 balls, in hindsight, it turned out to be the highest score of the game by an individual.

KKR had some mere but significant contributions with the bat from Chris Woakes (18), Manish Pandey (15) and Suryakumar Yadav (15) before they were bowled out for 131 in 19.3 overs.

Looking at the star-studded batting line-up of RCB, the target looked miniscule, however, Gautam Gambhir's side went on to upstage one of the biggest upsets of the IPL.

Nathan Coulter-Nile (3/21), Woakes (3/6), Colin de Grandhomme (3/4) and Umesh Yadav (1/15) ran completely through RCB's batting order. RCB bundled out for 49 in just 9.4 overs.

It was a rare instance when not a single batter could muster a double-digit score and Sunil Narine wasn't required to turn the ball despite his presence for KKR.

Ahead of the downfall against KKR, RCB were on the other side as they had bowled out Rajasthan Royals for 58 in their first game of IPL 2009 in Durban.

Delhi Daredevils (now Delhi Capitals) hold the record for the third (66) and fourth lowest totals in IPL history. They were bowled out for the paltry scores against Mumbai Indians and Kings XI Punjab (now Punjab Kings) respectively in IPL 2017.