New User posted their first comment

IPL Winning Captains List

With five IPL titles under his belt, Mumbai Indians' captain Rohit Sharma is the most successful captain in IPL if we take only the IPL title victories into account.

Most Successful Captains in IPL

NameNo. of TitlesTeamYear
Rohit Sharma5Mumbai Indians2013,2015,2017,2019,2020
Mahendra Singh Dhoni3Chennai Super Kings2010,2011,2018
Gautam Gambhir2Kolkata Knight Riders2012,2014
Shane Warne1Rajasthan Royals2008
Adam Gilchrist1Deccan Chargers2009
David Warner1Sunrisers Hyderabad2016

Rohit Sharma is followed by Mahendra Singh Dhoni who has led CSK in three IPL title victories. Gautam Gambhir ranks third having won the tournament twice for KKR. Shane Warne, Adam Gilchrist and David Warner have each won the IPL once for Rajasthan Royals, Deccan Chargers and Sunrisers Hyderabad respectively.

You can now check the updated IPL purple cap here.

IPL Winning Captains over the Years

It has been 11 years since the inaugural IPL, and only six IPL captains have been awarded the opportunity to lift the gem studded IPL Trophy.

YearWinnersCaptain of the Winning Team
2008Rajasthan RoyalsShane Warne
2009Deccan ChargersAdam Gilchrist
2010Chennai Super KingsMahendra Singh Dhoni
2011Chennai Super KingsMahendra Singh Dhoni
2012Kolkata Knight RidersGautam Gambhir
2013Mumbai IndiansRohit Sharma
2014Kolkata Knight RidersGautam Gambhir
2015Mumbai IndiansRohit Sharma
2016Sunrisers HyderabadDavid Warner
2017Mumbai IndiansRohit Sharma
2018Chennai Super KingsMahendra Singh Dhoni
2019Mumbai IndiansRohit Sharma

Given above is an IPL winning captains list, who have led their teams to victory.

Most Successful Captains : Win %


Below is a list of all the IPL captains ever ranked on the basis of the win percentages. Mahendra Singh Dhoni tops this list with most wins in IPL as captain - 104 and a win % of 60.11%.

PlayerTeam CaptainedMatches PlayedWonLostTiedNRWin%
Mahendra Singh DhoniChennai Super Kings, Rising Pune Supergiants174104690160.11
Rohit SharmaMumbai Indians10460422058.65
Gautam GambhirKolkata Knight Riders, Delhi Daredevils12971571055.03
Murali VijayKings XI Punjab8350037.5
Adam GilchristKings XI Punjab, Deccan Chargers7435390047.29
Shane WarneRajasthan Royals5530241054.54
Virat KohliRoyal Challengers Bangalore11049552447.16
Virender SehwagDelhi Daredevils, Kings XI Punjab5328250052.83
Sachin TendulkarMumbai Indians5130210058.82
Rahul DravidRajasthan Royals, Royal Challengers Bangalore4822260045.83
Kumar SangakkaraSunrisers Hyderabad, Deccan Chargers, Kings XI Punjab4715302031.91
Yuvraj SinghPune Warriors India, Kings XI Punjab4321210148.83
Sourav GangulyPune Warriors India, Kolkata Knight Riders4217250040.48
George BaileyKings XI Punjab3616191044.44
Mahela JayawardeneDelhi Daredevils, Kochi Tuskers Kerala, Kings XI Punjab3010191033.33
Anil KumbleRoyal Challengers Bangalore2615110057.69
Daniel VettoriRoyal Challengers Bangalore2212100054.54
Shane WatsonRajasthan Royals, Royal Challengers Bangalore248132139.13
Harbhajan SinghMumbai Indians2010100050
Kevin PietersenRoyal Challengers Bangalore, Delhi Daredevils173140017.64
David WarnerDelhi Daredevils, Sunrisers Hyderabad4725220057
Jean Paul DuminyDelhi Daredevils16690136.12
Brendon McCullumKolkata Knight Riders, Gujarat Lions143101021.43
Steve SmithPune Warriors India, Rajasthan Royals, Rising Pune Supergiant251780068
David HusseyKings XI Punjab12660050
Cameron WhiteSunrisers Hyderabad, Deccan Chargers12750058.33
Shikhar DhawanSunrisers Hyderabad10460040
Aaron FinchPune Warriors India10280020
Dinesh KarthikKolkata Knight Riders, Delhi Daredevils2211110050
V. V. S. LaxmanDeccan Chargers6150016.66
Ricky PontingMumbai Indians6330050
Angelo MathewsPune Warriors India5140020
Shaun PollockMumbai Indians4310075
Darren SammySunrisers Hyderabad4220050
James HopesDelhi Daredevils302010
Glenn MaxwellKings XI Punjab14770050
Suresh RainaChennai Super Kings, Gujarat Lions3216161050
Dwayne BravoMumbai Indians101000
Parthiv PatelKochi Tuskers Kerala101000
Ross TaylorPune Warriors India11000100
Zaheer KhanDelhi Daredevils2310130043.5
Ajinkya RahaneRising Pune Supergiants, Rajasthan Royals16790043.75
Kane WilliamsonSunrisers Hyderabad2614111055.76
Ravichandran AshwinKings XI Punjab2812160042.85
Shreyas IyerDelhi Capitals2413101056.25
David MillerKings XI Punjab6150016.66
Kieron PollardMumbai Indians11000100
Bhuvneshwar KumarSunrisers Hyderabad6240033.33

Fetching more content...
App download animated image Get the free App now