New User posted their first comment

Who they are: Current Head Coaches of all 8 IPL teams

Stephen Fleming and Mahela Jayawardene are set to guide CSK and MI yet again.
Stephen Fleming and Mahela Jayawardene are set to guide CSK and MI yet again.
Vijay Sain
Modified 11 Nov 2019

The Indian Premier League (IPL) is India's biggest franchise-based cash-rich league that is on the verge of its 13th edition in 2020. The highly-anticipated auction for the upcoming season will take place in Kolkata on 19th December.

The coaching management plays a vital role in bringing the best out of their players and letting them perform as a team. The franchises get the best veterans for the job to ensure that they spend the right amount of money on the right players at the auction.

Three out of eight franchises have opted to stick with their coaches of last season. Almost all 8 head coaches have had the experience of playing in the IPL.

As we get close to another exhilarating edition, let's take a look at the head coaches of all eight franchises for IPL 2020, and their IPL background as well.

#1 Stephen Fleming (Chennai Super Kings)

Stephen Fleming
Stephen Fleming

Stephen Fleming is known as one of the finest captains New Zealand has ever produced in all formats of the game. He led his team to clinch the ICC KnockOut Trophy back in 2000, which remains New Zealand's only ICC title to date. Fleming also captained NZ in the historic first-ever T20I against Australia in 2005.

A left-handed batsman and a dependable slip fielder, Stephen Fleming still is the leading run-scorer for New Zealand in Tests (7,172 runs) and the second-highest in ODIs (8,007 runs). He was a part of the World Cup squad on four occasions.

Also see - Live cricket score


IPL Background:

Stephen Fleming debuted with the Chennai Super Kings back in 2008 and scored 196 runs in 10 matches at a strike rate of 118.79. After announcing his retirement in 2009, Fleming has been the head coach of CSK since.

His IPL stint as a coach remains the most successful with CSK having won the title in 2010, 2011, and 2018 under the captaincy of MS Dhoni. He also coached the 2010 Champions League title-winning side in CSK, forming a successful association with the team.

1 / 8 NEXT
Published 08 Nov 2019, 13:25 IST
Fetching more content...
App download animated image Get the free App now