Man of the Match World Cup 2019 List

Last Modified Jul 16, 2019 16:31 IST

Just like every other edition of the World Cup tournament, the 2019 competition in England has also seen some spectacular team and individual performances. While some of the pieces of brilliance get forgotten as they end up on the losing side, but the best performer of the winning team gets the ‘Man of the Match’ award that helps reward the player’s contribution.

Below is the list of Man of the Match recipients of ICC World Cup 2019 :

Man of the Match World Cup 2019 List

Match NoDate/DayMatchMan of the MatchStats
130-May, ThuEngland vs South AfricaBen Stokes (England)89(79), 2 wickets, 1 catch 1 run out
231-May, FriWest Indies vs PakistanOshane Thomas (West Indies)4 wickets
31-June, SatNew Zealand vs Sri LankaMatt Henry (New Zealand)3 wickets, 1 catch
41-June, SatAfghanistan vs AustraliaDavid Warner (Australia)89(114)
52-June, SunSouth Africa vs BangladeshShakib Al Hasan (Bangladesh)75(84), 1 wicket, 1 catch
63-June, MonEngland vs PakistanMohammad Hafeez (Pakistan)84(62), 1 wicket, 1 catch
74-June, TueAfghanistan vs Sri LankaNuwan Pradeep (Sri Lanka)4 wickets
85-June, WedSouth Africa vs IndiaRohit Sharma (India)122*(144), 1 catch
95-June, WedBangladesh vs New ZealandRoss Taylor (New Zealand)82(91)
106-June, ThuAustralia vs West IndiesNathan Coulter Nile (Australia)92(60)
117-June, FriPakistan vs Sri Lanka-Match abandoned
128-June, SatEngland vs BangladeshJason Roy (England)153(121), 1 catch
138-June, SatAfghanistan vs New ZealandJames Neesham (New Zealand)5 wickets
149-June, SunIndia vs AustraliaShikhar Dhawan (India)117(109)
1510-June, MonSouth Africa vs West Indies-No Result
1611-June, TueBangladesh vs Sri Lanka-Match abandoned
1712-June, WedAustralia vs PakistanDavid Warner (Australia)107(111)
1813-June, ThuIndia vs New Zealand-Match abandoned
1914-June, FriEngland vs West IndiesJoe Root (England)100(94), 2 wickets, 2 catches
2015-June, SatSri Lanka vs AustraliaAaron Finch (Australia)153(132), 1 catch
2115-June, SatSouth Africa vs AfghanistanImran Tahir (South Africa)4 wickets, 1 catch
2216-June, SunIndia vs PakistanRohit Sharma (India)140(113)
2317-June, MonWest Indies vs BangladeshShakib Al Hasan (Bangladesh)124(99), 2 wickets
2418-June, TueEngland vs AfghanistanEoin Morgan (England)148(71)
2519-June, WedNew Zealand vs South AfricaKane Williamson (New Zealand)106(138), 1 catch
2620-June, ThuAustralia vs BangladeshDavid Warner (Australia)166(47), 2 catches
2721-June, FriEngland vs Sri LankaLasith Malinga (Sri Lanka)4 wickets
2822-June, SatIndia vs AfghanistanJasprit Bumrah (India)2 wickets
2922-June, SatWest Indies vs New ZealandKane Williamson (New Zealand)148(154)
3023-June, SunPakistan vs South AfricaHaris Sohail (Paksitan)89(59)
3124-June, MonBangladesh vs AfghanistanShakib Al Hasan (Bangladesh)51(69), 5 wickets
3225-June, TueEngland vs AustraliaAaron Finch (Australia)100(116), 1 catch
3326-June, WedNew Zealand vs PakistanBabar Azam (Pakistan)101*(127)
3427-June, ThuWest Indies vs IndiaVirat Kohli (India)72(82)
3528-June, FriSri Lanka vs South AfricaDwaine Pretorius (South Africa)3 wickets
3629-June, SatPakistan vs AfghanistanImad Wasim (Pakistan)49*(54), 2 wickets and 1 catch
3729-June, SatNew Zealand vs AustraliaAlex Carey (Australia)71(72), 3 catches
3830-June, SunEngland vs IndiaJonny Bairstow (England)111(109)
391-July, MonSri Lanka vs West IndiesAvishka Fernando (Sri Lanka)104(103)
402-July, TueBangladesh vs IndiaRohit Sharma (India)104(92)
413-July, WedEngland vs New ZealandJonny Bairstow (England)106(99)
424-July, ThuAfghanistan vs West IndiesShai Hope (West Indies)77(92)
435-July, FriPakistan vs BangladeshShaheen Afridi (Pakistan)6 wickets
446-July, SatSri Lanka vs IndiaRohit Sharma (India)103(94), 1 catch
456-July, SatAustralia vs South AfricaFaf du Plessis (South Africa)100(94)
469-July, TueIndia vs New Zealand 1st Semifinal (1 vs 4)Matt Henry (New Zealand)3 wickets
4711-July, ThuAustralia vs England 2nd Semifinal (2 vs 3)Chris Woakes (England)3 wickets
4814-July, SunNew Zealand vs England FinalBen Stokes (England)84*(98)

*Updated on 15th July, 2019

As most of the matches have been won by the Top 3 teams in the tournament, the recipients of the Man of the Match awards are also from these nations. These awards have been won 7 times by Indians, 7 times by Australians and 8 times by the Englishmen.

Rohit Sharma (India) won man of the match four times in the tournament so far. While two players have won the award thrice so far. They are David Warner (Australia), Shakib Al Hasan (Bangladesh). So far, 24 awards have been won by batsmen, 9 by bowlers and 6 by all-rounders. No player from a losing team has won a ‘Man of the Match’ award.

Also Read : World cup 2019 highlights