Premier League 2010-11

The 19th season of the Barclays Premier League proved to be another wonder season for the most successful team in the league’s history as the Manchester United went on to win their 12th title. This was also their 19th crown, which pretty much put them on the top pedestal as the ultimate team in the championship. The 2010-11 season began on the 14th of August and ended on 22nd May 2011.

Defending champions Chelsea went into this season again as the favourites, given their fantastic form. Other top flight teams like Manchester City, Arsenal and Man United were also rated highly amongst football pundits as the season's winners. However, Man United maintained their supremacy and went on to win the title.

League Table

1Manchester United382311480
3Manchester City38218971
5Tottenham Hotspur 381614862
9Aston Villa3812121448
11West Bromwich Albion3812111547
12Newcastle United3811131446
13Stoke City381371846
14Bolton Wanderers3812101646
15Blackburn Rovers3811101743
16Wigan Athletic389151442
17Wolverhampton Wanderers381172040
18Birmingham City388151539
20West Ham387121933

Manchester United- Winners

Manchester United finished 9 points clear of Chelsea, thus showing the ease with which they won the season. The highlight of the season for them was perhaps the consistency they had throughout the 38 games that they played. However,they had a strange record- while they had a phenomenal record at the Old Trafford, their away record was surprisingly poor. They only won 5 away matches, while they won 18 out of the 19 home fixtures.

Their legendary manager Sir Alex Ferguson also became the longest serving manager in Manchester United's invincible history. They remained unbeaten until the new year, which showed their brilliant form. The stars of their 12th PL crown were Dimitar Berbatov, captain Nemanja Vidic, Wayne Rooney and Javier Hernandez.

Captain Vidic had a sensational campaign and he swooped the Player of the Season award for his excellent play. Dimitar Berbatov received the Golden Boot for scoring 20 goals throughout the season, sharing it with Man City's Carlos Tevez. He was phenomenal throughout, his most notable performance being his 5 goals in their win over Blackburn Rovers. Mexican Javier Hernandez had a superb top flight season, as his 20 goals in the season made it a memorable debut season for the then 21 year old.

Other veterans such as Ryan Giggs also registered their name on the scoresheet, scoring for the 19th consecutive PL season. However, the highlight of the season was Wayne Rooney's stunning overhead kick against Man City. That goal was also voted as the best ever in the Premier League's 20 Seasons Awards.

Manchester United v Blackpool - Premier League

Chelsea- Runners up

Chelsea went into the season as defending champions. However they fell well short of their title defence as they were 9 points behind, even though they finished as the runners-up. They ended up winning 21 games and conceded the fewest number of goals in the competition.

Carlo Ancelotti's team had a lot of superstars. Players like David Luiz, Ashley Cole, Frank Lampard with the able leadership of John Terry and the phenomenal gloves of Petr Cech made them the favourites again. They also bought Spaniard Fernando Torres for a record breaking £50 million from Liverpool. Overall, they had a squad worth winning the title yet again.


Sir Alex Ferguson yet again won the Manager of the season award, thus cementing his supremacy as perhaps the best manager the Red Devils ever had. The champions had another winner in Nemanja Vidic, who won the Player of the season, while Gareth Bale won the PFA Players Player of the Season.

Manchester United v Wolverhampton Wanderers - Premier League

PFA team of the Year

Edwin Van der Sar(GK)Manchester United
Bacary SagnaArsenal
Nemanja VidicManchester United
Vincent KompanyManchester City
Ashley ColeChelsea
NaniManchester United
Samir NasriArsenal
Jack WilshereArsenal
Gareth BaleTottenham Hotspur
Carlos TevezManchester City
Dimitar BerbatovManchester United

Arsenal had three players in the Team of the Season. They had a decent enough season, but couldn't capture the important moments which came their way. Players from Chelsea, Man City and and Tottenham also made their way into the team.

United had as many as 4 players in the team of the season.

Article image

Go to article
Fetching more content...
App download animated image Get the free App now