Favorites Edit

Dehradun Rockers trounce MP Warriors to enter IJPL semifinals

47   //    26 Sep 2017, 21:31 IST

Dubai, Sep 26 (PTI) Dehradun Rockers outplayed MP Warriors by 69 runs to become the first team to enter the semifinals of Indian Junior Players League Talent Hunt at Dubai's International Cricket Stadium here today.

Warriors had reduced Dehradun Rockers to 63-3 in 12 overs after winning the toss and electing to field but they couldn't keep the pressure on as the Rockers came back to amass 88 runs in the remaining eight overs.

Prateek Panwar struck a brilliant 62 runs off 43 balls while Arko Jyoti Chattopadhyay scored a patient 37 runs off 38 deliveries to take the Rockers innings to 151-8 in 20 overs.

Prakhar Prakesh Yadav (2/12), Kesat Chettri (1/26) and skipper Anmol Maheshram (1/38) were the successful bowlers for MP Warriors.

Warriors, however, choked in their run chase with lower- down batman, Harshdeep Chachal (28 runs off 17 deliveries) being the highest scorer.

None of the other batsmen could manage to reach the 20- run mark. Their openers Sameer Khan (10) and Mohd. Riaz (12) were off to a decent start but failed to come up with a strong foundation.

The Warriors lost four of their top batsmen even before the power play overs were completed, and then slumped to 53-7 in the 14th over.

Dehradun Rockers' Rohit Rana caused the maximum damage, with four wickets for just 10 runs. The other bowlers, Suraj Satwal (3/10) and Jatin Bhatia (2/16) kept the other batsmen on tight lease as Warriors folded up for just 82 runs in 16.4 overs

Press Trust of India (PTI) is a news agency in India
Fetching more content...