Anabel Medina Garrigues


BornJuly 31, 1982


Ana Isabel Medina Garrigues better known as Anabel Medina, is a Spanish femaletennis player. She reached a career high WTA Tour ranking of No. 16 on 4 May 2009. She has won 11 singles titles and 18 doubles titles, including the 2008 French Open and 2009 French Open with Virginia Ruano Pascual. Her profile is that of a very crafty clay court specialist who grinds to win most of her rallies. She won the WTA tournament in Strasbourg, France, beating Katarina Srebotnik in the final in May 2008, thus defending the title she won the previous year against AmΓ©lie Mauresmo. Her other singles titles came in Palermo in 2006, 2005, 2004 and 2001; Canberra in 2006; Strasbourg in 2005 and FΓ¨s in 2009. Garrigues qualified for the 2011 Commonwealth Bank Tournament of Champions and reached the final, but she was heavily defeated by defending champion Ana Ivanovic 6–3, 6–0. Anabel reached the quarterfinal of Sony Swedish Open, Bastad losing to Johanna Larsson, 4–6 4–6.
Article image

Go to article
Fetching more content...
App download animated image Get the free App now