IPL 2023 Groups

Last Modified Mar 06, 2023 18:27 IST

Group A and B in IPL 2022

IPL Group 1IPL Group 2
Mumbai IndiansChennai Super Kings
Kolkata Knight RidersSunrisers Hyderabad
Rajasthan RoyalsRoyal Challengers Bangalore
Delhi CapitalsPunjab Kings
Lucknow Super GiantsGujarat Titans

IPL 2022 is all set to have a unique format. Unlike the previous 10 seasons, the tournament will not follow a round-robin format where the teams play against each other twice. Because of the addition of the two new franchises, the BCCI had to bring back the 2011 format.

In IPL 2011, the BCCI divided 10 IPL teams into two groups of five. The teams in the same IPL group played against each other twice during the league stage, whereas the teams in the opposite group battled once.

IPL Groups List

Indian Premier League Group 2022

Also, to ensure each team played 14 league matches in the IPL schedule, the BCCI had a mirror opponent rule, meaning the teams in the same row of the group seedings would lock horns with each other twice.

This year, the BCCI formed the two groups based upon the number of championships won and final appearances by the 10 teams. Here are the seedings for IPL 2022, followed by the IPL groups.

Check who is currently at the top of the IPL points table 2022 here.

IPL 2022 Seedings

RankTeamTitlesFinal Appearances
1Mumbai Indians56
2Chennai Super Kings49
3Kolkata Knight Riders23
4Sunrisers Hyderabad12
5Rajasthan Royals11
6Royal Challengers Bangalore03
7Delhi Capitals01
8Punjab Kings01
9Lucknow Super Giants00
10Gujarat Titans00

What will the IPL 2022 Group stage be like?

Group A in IPL 2022 consists the teams Mumbai Indians, Kolkata Knight Riders, Rajasthan Royals, Delhi Capitals, Lucknow Super Giants. Group B in IPL 2022 consists Chennai Super Kings, Sunrisers Hyderabad, Royal Challengers Bangalore, Punjab Kings and Gujarat Titans.

So, taking the example of Mumbai Indians, MI will play against Kolkata Knight Riders, Rajasthan Royals, Delhi Capitals and Lucknow Super Giants twice. They will play against Sunrisers Hyderabad, Royal Challengers Bangalore, Punjab Kings and Gujarat Titans once.

Since CSK and MI both are the top-ranked teams on their group as per the IPL seedings, they will play two matches against each other. Similarly, KKR will take on SRH twice, RCB and RR will battle twice, DC vs PBKS will happen two times and the new franchises Lucknow Super Giants and Gujarat Titans will cross paths twice as well.

Check out this video to understand the new format, groups and IPL 2022 venues.


Fans should note that even though there are 2 groups in IPL, there will only be one points table. The top 4 teams will qualify for the IPL 2022 playoffs like previous seasons.