Favorites Edit

Megh Patel, Sharanya Gaware win titles in national jr tennis

71   //    18 Aug 2018, 19:44 IST

Chennai, Aug 18 (PTI) Megh Bhargav Patel of Gujarat justified his top billing, winning the boys singles title in the Adidas-MCC National Junior Clay Court tennis championship here today.

Sharanya Gaware of Maharashtra, the 14th-seed, capped a fine run by winning the girls title at the expense of third-seed Humera Sheikh of Telangana.

The top-seeded Patel made the boys final a no-contest as he brushed aside the challenge of fourth-seeded Delhi lad Rhythm Malhotra 6-3, 6-0 in an hour to become the champion.

Patel, who had a tough time in his quarterfinal was in roaring form in the final.

Both players held serve till 3-all in the first before the Gujarat lad made it a one-way contest.

He served with precision and had eight aces in all and returned with precision to reel off nine games from three-all in the opening set.

The girls final was a topsy-turvy match.

Sharanya was steady while Humera though powerful was often erratic.

The girls traded two breaks and held twice till 4-all inthe first set. At this point, Sharanya broke Humera's serve to go ahead 5-4. Two unforced errors from Humera and a winner helped Sharanya close out the set 6-4.

In the second set Sharanya led 4-2 and then 5-3 with help of one break of serve in the fifth game.However, she lost the 10th game rather tamely to allow her rival gain a foothold.


But Humera could not capitalise and allowed Sharanya to win eight of the next nine points to close out a 6-4, 7-5 win.

The boys and girls singles winners gained 200 AITA points and a kitting contract worth Rs one lakh with Adidas for their efforts.

The Promising Player trophy was presented to Rhythm Malhotra and Prerna Vichare of Maharashtra.

TNTA president M A Alagappan, MCC president K Dhananjayadas and Adidas India Marketing Pvt Ltd brand manager Nitin Mahajan gave away the prizes.

Results: Finals: Boys: Megh Bhargav Kumar Patel (Guj-S1) bt Rhythm Malhotra (Del-S4) 6-3, 6-0.

Girls singles: Sharanya Gaware (S14) bt Humera Sheik (TS) 6-4, 7-5.

Earlier results: Semifinals: Boys: Megh Patel bt Rishab Sharda (CH-S3) 6-2, 6-4; Rhythm Malhotra bt Krishan Hooda (HR- S11) 6-4, 6-1.

Girls singles: Sharanya Gaware bt Salsa Aher (Mah-S4) 6-0, 6-2; Humera Sheik bt Sara Yadav (MP) 6-1, 3-6, 6-2

Press Trust of India (PTI) is a news agency in India
Fetching more content...