Favorites Edit

Shivajians beat Bengaluru FC to enter Nike Premier Cup final

136   //    06 Feb 2018, 15:42 IST

Margao, Feb 6 (PTI) It was jubilation for DSK Shivajians FC as they beat Bengaluru FC 5-4 in a penalty shootout to enter the finals of the Nike Premier Cup 2018 which is organised by the All India Football Federation.

The result saw Bengaluru FC lose the opportunity to advance to their first-ever final despite being dominant throughout the 90 minutes.

Bengaluru FC started out strong, pressing and harrying the DSK Shivajians into losing possession and playing loose passes.

The two sides restricted each other to half-chances and ended up cancelling each other out. In the end, it went down to the wire.

With a penalty shootout needed to declare a winner, Bengaluru FC took the first kick. Arkaprabha Das, Aryan Sonowal, Manish Chaudhary and Lalhmunmawia scored for them while Saikat Das missed.

Seigoumang Doungel, Sonminthang Haokip, Mintu Mech and Rewang Lepcha scored for DSK in the shootout with Bawi Rou Sang missing.

Both teams locked at 4-4, it was sudden-death and Shresth Joshi's miss for Bengaluru FC helped Zamlunmang of Shivajians win the game for the Pune-outfit

Press Trust of India (PTI) is a news agency in India
Fetching more content...