IPL Longest Six

Last Modified May 30, 2023 02:21 IST

Longest Six in IPL History

PositionYearPlayerTeamDistance (in meters)
12008Albie MorkelChennai Super Kings125
22013Praveen KumarKings XI Punjab124
32011Adam GilchristKings XI Punjab122
42010Robin UthappaRoyal Challengers Bangalore120
52013Chris GayleRoyal Challengers Bangalore119
62009Yuvraj SinghKings XI Punjab119
72008Ross TaylorRoyal Challengers Bangalore119
82016Ben Cutting Sunrisers Hyderabad117
92013Gautam GambhirKolkata Knight Riders117
102009MS Dhoni/Faf Du PlessisChennai Super Kings/Royal Challengers Bangalore115

Biggest Six in IPL Year Wise

YearPlayer NameTeamDistance (in meters)
2022Liam LivingstonePunjab Kings117
2021Ruturaj GaikwadChennai Super Kings108
2020Nicholas PooranKings XI Punjab106
2019MS DhoniChennai Super Kings111
2018AB de VilliersRoyal Challengers Bangalore111
2017Travis HeadRoyal Challengers Bangalore109
2016Ben CuttingSunrisers Hyderabad117
2015AB de VilliersRoyal Challengers Bangalore108
2014David MillerKings XI Punjab102
2013Praveen KumarKings XI Punjab124
2012MS DhoniChennai Super Kings112
2011Adam GilchristKings XI Punjab122
2010Robin UthappaRoyal Challengers Bangalore120
2009Yuvraj SinghKings XI Punjab 119
2008Albie MorkelChennai Super Kings 125

Former South Africa all-rounder Albie Morkel set the record for the longest six in the Indian Premier League (IPL).

licensed-image (1275×2048)

The visuals of watching a batter dance down the pitch and dispatch the ball into the stands is one of the enticing moments for the spectators of the game to live up to.

One of the greatest requirements of the modern day game is to take the attack against the opposition. Not only the crowd is enthralled when the ball is dispatched into the stands but the batter is boosted with enough confidence after the shot.

While playing for Chennai Super Kings against now-defunct Deccan Chargers in IPL 2008, Morkel clobbered left-arm spinner Pragyan Ojha for a humungous six, a 125-meter six. The feisty shot from the South African happens to remain the longest six of the IPL even after 15 seasons.


Former Indian fast bowler Praveen Kumar, surprisingly, stands second on the list of longest sixes in IPL. Kumar smashed Mumbai Indians ace bowler Lasith Malinga for a 125 meters over long-off in a match between MI and KXIP in IPL 2013.

Universe Boss Chris Gayle holds the record of most sixes in IPL - 357 in 141 innings - with the longest one is 119 meters against Ashok Dinda during his belligerent 175* vs PWI in IPL 2013.

Gayle's 119m six is, however, the fifth longest six in IPL. Yuvraj Singh and Ross Taylor have also matched the 119 meter distance in the tournament at some stage.

The most surprising name in the top 10 longest six of IPL of all-time would be Gautam Gambhir. Gambhir seldom played in the aerial route and preferred timing his stroke play accurately to find the gaps.

However, Gambhir charged against Rajasthan Royals pacer S Sreesanth during a chase in 2013. Gambhir walked out of his crease and bent his back foot a bit to slog Sreesanth over deep square leg for a maximum.

@udit_buch iplt20.com/video/22450/ta…

Very normal six.. boundary k thoda peeche hi gira. As per the articles which I read, the six came against Sreesanth in a match which KKR lost in 2013. So Match 8 was the one which they lost vs RR and GG hit only this one six in the match..vs Sreesanth.