Most Dot Balls in IPL History

Last Modified Apr 28, 2023 15:15 IST
PosPlayerMatchesOversWicketsDot BallsAverageEconomy
1Bhuvneshwar Kumar153542160147325.797.30
2Ravichandran Ashwin192649168145228.896.98
3Sunil Narine156576158144225.136.63
4Harbhajan Singh163569150126826.877.08
5Piyush Chawla172545168121327.397.88
6Amit Mishra158540170117323.987.36
7Lasith Malinga122471170115519.87.14
8Umesh Yadav141468136114728.878.32
9Jasprit Bumrah120455145112023.307.39
10Ravindra Jadeja218560143110529.877.30

Dot balls are like gold dust in T20 cricket. They help to build scoreboard pressure on the batsmen, which ultimately leads to a wicket.

New Project (3).jpg (960×600)

Over the course of the past 15 seasons of the Indian Premier League (IPL), we have seen plenty such bowlers who have mastered the art of ramping up the scoreboard pressure on the batsman by consistently delivering dot balls.

The most successful bowler in this regard has been veteran India and SunRisers Hyderabad swing bowler, Bhuvneshwar Kumar.

000_1FX7QY-e1596460685858-1024x576.jpg (1024×576)

The right-arm swing bowler has sent down 542 overs in his 146-match IPL career, during which he delivered 1406 dot balls.

The top-5 is dominated by the spinners, with Sunil Narine (1391 in 576 overs), R Ashwin (1387 in 649 overs) and Harbhajan Singh (1268 in 569 overs) occupying the 2nd, 3rd and 4th spot respectively.

1604600032_ai_5398-e1605153848133.jpg (510×340)

Rounding off the top-5 list is former Sri Lankan and Mumbai Indians pacer, Lasith Malinga.

Malinga, who also happens to be the leading wicket-taker in IPL history, delivered 1155 dot deliveries in his 122-match career.

malinga-mi-csk-ipl-2019-pti-e1597911871649.jpg (600×350)

The 6th and 7th spot are occupied by veteran spinners, Amit Mishra (1154 in 540 overs) and Piyush Chawla (1151 in 545 overs) respectively followed by three Indian pacers- Jasprit Bumrah (1120 in 455 overs), Umesh Yadav (1105 in 468 overs) and Praveen Kumar (1076 in 420 overs)- at 8, 9 and 10 respectively.