Manipur, Bihar post big wins

Modified 08 Dec 2018, 19:56 IST

Dimapur, Dec 8 (PTI) Skipper Yashpal Singh grabbed a five-wicket haul to complement debutant Mayank Raghav's double century as Manipur thrashed hosts Nagaland by seven wickets in their Ranji Plate Group fixture here Saturday.

The medium pacer returned with 5/46, running through the tail to bundle out Nagaland for 334 after they resumed the day on 150/4.

Chasing 125, Manipur's opener Lakhan Rawat struck 55, while Yashpal remained unbeaten on 35 to seal the win with a day to spare.

Man-of-the-match Raghav's 228 had helped Manipur take a 210-run first innings lead.

Nagaland showed fight in the second innings with KB Pawan (131) and Arbar Kazi (90) putting on 186 runs for the fifth wicket.

Yashpal finally gave the breakthrough, getting Kazi stumped before the lunch break as Nagaland's last five batsmen folded for 64 runs to set an easy 125-run target.

At the Moin-ul-Haq Stadium in Patna, left-arm spinner Ashutosh Aman returned with a match haul of 11 wickets as Bihar secured an innings and 317-run victory over Arunachal Pradesh to log seven points.

Ashutosh claimed 7 for 21 to follow-up on his 4 for 26 in his first innings, en route his second 10-wicket match haul, as Arunchal Pradesh folded for 135 in the second innings.

Bihar had declared their first innings for a mammoth 536/5 after bundling out Arunachal for 84 on day two.

Indrajit Kumar, who scored 222 off 266 balls, was adjudged man-of-the-match.


Overnight duo of Vineet Saxena and Rajat Bhatia batted through the day to smash double centuries to give group leaders Uttarakhand a first innings lead over Meghayala at their home ground in Dehradun.

At close on day three, Bhatia was unbeaten on 212 (340 balls; 24x4, 2x6) while Saxena was batting on 202 from 506 balls (16x4, 1x6) as Uttarkhand were 491/4, with a lead of 180 runs.

Brief Scores

In Dehradun: Meghalaya 311. Uttarakhand 491/4; 163 overs (Vineet Saxena 202 batting, Rajat Bhatia 212 batting; Dipu Sangma 2/50).

In Dimapur: Nagaland 126 and 334; 98.1 overs (KB Pawan 131, Arbar Kazi 90, Rongsen Jonathan 59; Yashpal Singh 5/46, Kabrambam Meitei 2/58, Bishworjit Konthoujam 2/84). Manipur 336 and 128/3; 36.4 overs (Lakhan Rawat 55, Yashpal Singh 35 not out). Manipur won by seven wickets. Points: Manipur 6, Nagaland 0.

In Patna: Arunachal Pradesh 84 and 135; 47.4 overs (Samarth Seth 58; Ashutosh Aman 7/14, S Quadri 2/31). Bihar 536/5 declared. Bihar won by an innings and 317 runs. Points Bihar 7. Arunachal Pradesh 0.

In Wayanad: Puducherry 647/8 declared. Sikkim 247; 72.2 overs (Milind Kumar 96, Bipul Sharma 47; Pankaj Singh 3/21, D Rohit 3/67) and following on 105/3; 37 overs (Ashish Thapa 52)

Published 08 Dec 2018, 19:56 IST
Fetching more content...
Get the free App now
❤️ Favorites Edit