New User posted their first comment

IPL Super Overs

A Super Over was introduced in the Indian Premier League from the inaugural edition in 2008. There have been 8 IPL Super Overs in the first twelve editions of the tournament.

List of all IPL Super Overs

Sr. No.DateTeamsVenueMatch ScoreSuper Over Winner
123/04/2009Kolkata Knight Riders vs Rajasthan RoyalsCape Town150Rajasthan Royals
221/03/2010Chennai Super Kings vs Kings XI PunjabChennai136Kings XI Punjab
316/04/2013Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Delhi Daredevils (now Delhi Capitals)Bangalore (now Bengaluru)152Royal Challengers Bangalore
407/04/2013Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Royal Challengers BangaloreHyderabad130Sunrisers Hyderabad
529/04/2014Kolkata Knight Riders vs Rajasthan RoyalsAbu Dhabi152Rajasthan Royals
629/04/2017Gujarat Lions vs Mumbai IndiansRajkot153Mumbai Indians
730/03/2019Delhi Capitals vs Kolkata Knight RidersDelhi185Delhi Capitals
802/05/2019Mumbai Indians vs Sunrisers HyderabadMumbai162Mumbai Indians
920/09/2020Delhi Capitals vs Kings XI PunjabDubai157Delhi Capitals
1029/09/2020Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Mumbai IndiansDubai201Royal Challengers Bangalore
1118/10/2020Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Kolkata Knight RidersAbu Dhabi163Kolkata Knight Riders
1218/10/2020Mumbai Indians vs Kings XI PunjabDubai176Kings XI Punjab

*Updated on 19th Oct 2020

What is a Super Over?

A Super Over is played to obtain a result in case a limited-overs match ends in a tie. Both teams involved play an over each. The team that batted second in the match bats first in the Super Over and vice-versa. The team that scores more runs at the end of their Super Over wins the match.

IPL Super Over Rules

  1. The Super Over shall commence 10 minutes after the conclusion of the match
  2. The side batting second in the match will bat first in the Super Over
  3. The Super Over will be played on the same pitch as the match
  4. Umpires will stay at the same end as the last over of the match
  5. Fielding side can chose the side to bowl from
  6. Fielding restrictions shall remain the same as the last over of the match
  7. Only 3 batsmen (2 wickets) and 1 bowler from each team are allowed to take part in an IPL Super Over.
  8. There will be unlimited number of Super Overs if one team doesn’t end up scoring more runs than the other after a tie-up.

FAQs on IPL Super Over

1] What happens if a Super Over is tied?

A. If a Super Over in IPL is tied, it will be followed by another Super Over till a result is obtained.

2] Are Super Over runs counted?

A. No, Super Over runs do not go in any record and the players play it only to get a result.

3] What if the number of boundaries are the same?

A. The boundary count rule has been removed by the ICC and similarly by the BCCI for the IPL and thus the number of boundaries do not matter anymore.

IPL Super Over Trivia

  1. Kolkata Knight Riders have been involved in most number of ties (3) in the IPL.
  2. Rajasthan Royals have won the most number of IPL Super Overs (2).
  3. The highest total in a tied match is 185 (KKR vs DC) and the lowest score is 130 (SRH vs RCB).
  4. All eight teams participating in IPL 2020 have played at least one Super Over but CSK and KKR are yet to win one.

Ranking every Super Over bowled by Jasprit Bumrah

Ranking every Super Over bowled by Jasprit Bumrah

IPL 2020: Twitter goes berserk after KKR edge past SRH in a thrilling Super Over

IPL 2020: Twitter goes berserk after KKR edge past SRH in a thrilling Super Over

IPL2020: Delhi Capitals beats Kings XI Punjab in a super over thriller | #DCvsKXIP

IPL2020: Delhi Capitals beats Kings XI Punjab in a super over thriller | #DCvsKXIP

Fetching more content...
App download animated image Get the free App now