Write & Earn
Favorites Edit

William Byron wins NASCAR Xfinity Series championship

With William Byron's third place finish Saturday, he becomes the second youngest driver in Xfinity Series history to win a championship.

19 Nov 2017, 05:39 IST
William Byron
William Byron

With his third-place finish at the Ford EcoBoost 300 at Homestead-Miami Speedway Saturday, William Byron is the 2017 NASCAR Xfinity Series champion.

At 19 years, 11 months and 20 days, Byron is the second youngest driver to win the series championship. Chase Elliott, the 2014 champ, is the youngest to have won the title.


Byron's third place finish was good enough to best fellow Championship 4 drivers Elliott Sadler (eighth), Justin Allgaier (12th) and Daniel Hemric (34th) for the title.

The 19-year-old won four races, earned 12 top fives and 22 top 10s this season on his way to a championship. He will take over the No. 24 Chevrolet for Hendrick Motorsports in the NASCAR Cup Series in 2018.

Fetching more content...