French Open Women's Singles Winners

French Open Women’s Singles Winners
French Open (Image credits: Iga Swiatek’s Instagram)

The French Open is one of the four tennis majors that is played on outdoor clay courts. The first edition of French Open women’s singles was played in 1897 and the women’s doubles category was introduced in 1925. Since the inception of the event, 31 different women have won the singles title, with Christ Evert lifting the title a record seven times. The winner will receive a miniature replica of the Suzanne Lenglen Cup, which was named after Suzzane Lenglen, winner of the French Open in 1925 and 1926.

Alice Weiwers, Simone Iribarne Lafargue, and Raymonde Jones Veber won the editions held between 1941 and 1944. However, the French Tennis Federation did not count them and named the tournament Tournoi de France. Adine Masson holds the record for winning the most times, with five titles, when the tournament was opened to members of French tennis clubs and nationals.

Women’s singles rules have been changed since the first edition. Helen Wills Moody won the title four times when the tournament was open to international players before the open era. Women’s singles players who have won the title without losing a set include Evonne Goolagong, Billie Jean King, Chris Evert, Steffi Graf, Arantxa Sanchez Vicario, Justine Henin and Iga Swiatek.

List of French Open Women’s Singles Winners

Year ChampionCountry
1968Nancy RicheyUSA
1969Margaret CourtAustralia
1970Margaret CourtAustralia
1971Evonne GoolagongAustralia
1972Billie Jean KingUSA
1973Margaret CourtAustralia
1974Chris EvertUSA
1975Chris EvertUSA
1976Sue BarkerUK
1977Mima JausovecYugoslavia
1978Virginia RuziciRomania
1979Chris EvertUSA
1980Chris EvertUSA
1981Hana MandlikovaCzech Republic
1982Martina NavratilovaUSA
1983Chris EvertUSA
1984Martina NavratilovaUSA
1985Chris EvertUSA
1986Chris EvertUSA
1987Steffi GrafWest Germany
1988Steffi GrafWest Germany
1989Arantxa Sanchez VicarioSpain
1990Monica SelesYugoslavia
1991Monica SelesYugoslavia
1992Monica SelesYugoslavia
1993Steffi GrafGermany
1994Arantxa Sanchez VicarioSpain
1995Steffi GrafGermany
1996Steffi GrafGermany
1997Iva MajoliCroatia
1998Arantxa Sanchez VicarioSpain
1999Steffi GrafGermany
2000Mary PierceFrance
2001Jennifer CapriatiUSA
2002Serena WilliamsUSA
2003Justine Henin HardenneBelgium
2004Anastasia MyskinaRussia
2005Justine Henin HardenneBelgium
2006Justine Henin HardenneBelgium
2007Justine Henin HardenneBelgium
2008Ana IvanovicSerbia
2009Svetlana KuznetsovaRussia
2010Francesca SchiavoneItaly
2011Li NaChina
2012Maria SharapovaRussia
2013Serena WilliamsUSA
2014Maria SharapovaRussia
2015Serena WilliamsUSA
2016Garbine MuguruzaSpain
2017Jelena OstapenkoLatvia
2018Simona HalepRomania
2019Ashleigh BartyAustralia
2020Iga SwiatekPoland
2021Barbora KrejcikovaCzech Republic
2022Iga SwiatekPoland
2023Iga SwiatekPoland

FAQ's On French Open Women’s Singles Winners

Q. Who is the youngest female player to win the French Open?

A. Monica Seles is the youngest female player to win the French Open. She won her first title at the age of 16 and 189 days.

Q. Who has won the most number of women’s singles French Open titles?

A. Chris Evert holds the record for winning the most number of women’s singles French Open titles, with seven titles.

Q. Who consecutively won the French Open women’s singles title?

A. Four-time French Open champion Justine Henin won the French Open women’s singles title three times consecutively. 

Q. Who won the French Open in 2022 and 2023 in women’s singles?

A. Iga Swiatek won the French Open in 2022 and 2023, defeating Coco Gauff and Karolina Muchova in the finals respectively.

Q. Who is the oldest female player to win the French Open?

A. Serena Williams is the oldest women’s player to win the singles title at the French Open. She was 33 years and 258 days old when she won the title in 2015.

App download animated image Get the free App now