⚡️ Get the free App now
Favorites Edit

Australia thrash India to win Women's T20 World Cup in front of record crowd

  • India were no match for Australia as a final played out in front of a record crowd of 86,174 saw the hosts crowned champions yet again.
Modified 09 Mar 2020, 17:01 IST

Australia celebrate after wrapping up victory over India at the MCG.
Australia celebrate after wrapping up victory over India at the MCG.

Alyssa Healy and Beth Mooney starred with the bat as Australia eased to an 85-run victory over India in the Women's T20 World Cup final on Sunday.

A crowd of 86,174 – a record for a women's cricket match – witnessed the tournament hosts dominate throughout at the famous MCG.

Australia posted 184-4 after opting to bat first, Mooney top-scoring with an unbeaten 78 from 54 deliveries.

However, it was opening partner Healy who stole the show, capitalising on an early life - she was dropped by Shafali Verma in the first over - to hit the fastest half-century in an ICC final.

Watched by husband Mitchell Starc, who was given permission to leave Australia's tour of South Africa early to be at the game, Healy needed just 39 balls to smash 75.

Also see – IPL 2020 time table

The right-hander hit seven fours and five sixes - including three in a row during an over from Shikha Pandey - before she was eventually caught at long on, ending a first-wicket stand worth 115 with Mooney.

#T20WorldCup final attendance: 86,174

 The highest for a women's sporting event in Australia
The highest for a women's cricket match globally

Thank you everyone for making #IWD2020 one to remember — ICC (@ICC) March 8, 2020


Chasing such a daunting target, India stumbled out of the blocks. The big-hitting Verma fell to the third ball of their reply, caught behind by wicketkeeper Healy off the bowling of Megan Schutt.

Taniya Bhatia had to retire hurt due to concussion before Jemimah Rodrigues was caught at mid on, leaving the score at 8-2 at the end of the second over.

Deepti Sharma was the only player to provide any real resistance with 33, Schutt finishing with figures of 4-18 as India were bowled out for 99 with five balls remaining.

Despite the absences of Tayla Vlaeminck and Ellyse Perry, who both suffered injuries in the group stage, Australia were crowned T20 champions for a fifth time, albeit this is their first title on home soil.

Published 08 Mar 2020, 16:14 IST
Fetching more content...