IPL Captains 2023

Last Modified Mar 23, 2023 16:44 IST
IPL TeamCaptain
Mumbai IndiansRohit Sharma
Chennai Super KingsMS Dhoni
Royal Challengers BangaloreFaf du Plessis
Delhi CapitalsDavid Warner
Kolkata Knight RidersYet to be announced
Rajasthan RoyalsSanju Samson
Punjab KingsShikhar Dhawan
Sunrisers HyderabadAiden Markram
Lucknow Super GiantsKL Rahul
Gujarat TitansHardik Pandya

334668-<span class='entity-link' id='suggestBtn-0'>ipl</span>-captains.png (1200×675)

A cricket captain is the team's leader both on and off the field. The IPL is no exception. There have been several IPL captains over the years, some of them have been highly successful and others who have not.

With five IPL championships under his belt, Mumbai Indians captain Rohit Sharma is the most successful IPL team captain. In the middle of the 2013 season, he was named captain of the squad. In the following seasons, he won the IPL trophy in 2013, 2015, 2017, 2019, and 2020.

MS Dhoni has captained a team 190 times in the IPL, the most of any player in the competition's history. Dhoni has four IPL titles to his credit.

Ahead of IPL 2023, here's a look at the men who will be leading the 10 franchises in the 16th edition-

MI 2023 Captain - Rohit Sharma

IPL-moneyball-Rohit.jpg (712×475)

Rohit Sharma will lead the Mumbai Indians franchise in the 2023 edition of the IPL. Sharma has been MI’s skipper since 2013.

Under his leadership, MI have won the trophy five times. After failing to qualify for the playoffs in past two seasons, MI will be keen to bounce back under Sharma’s leadership.

CSK 2023 Captain - MS Dhoni

1006249-896577-ms-dhoni-afp.jpg (1280×720)

MS Dhoni will captain the Chennai Super Kings in IPL 2023. Dhoni has been the franchise’s skipper since 2008. Like MI, CSK have achieved much success under their current skipper.

Dhoni has led the Super Kings to four IPL titles and two Champions League T20 trophies. He won his fourth IPL trophy in Dubai in 2021. He stepped down as skipper ahead of the 2022 season, but returned to the helm midway through the season after his successor Ravindra Jadeja relinquished the leadership duties following a disastrous stint.

Click here to get more information on IPL Prize Money 2023.

SRH 2023 Captain - Aiden Markram

bac0f935-markram-ipl-price-2023.jpg (1280×720)

SunRisers Hyderabad have named Proteas batter Aiden Markram their skipper for IPL 2023.

Markram, who led the SunRisers Eastern Cape to their maiden SA20 title earlier this year, will be hoping to emulate the same success with the IPL franchise.

The South African star had a brilliant IPL 2022 campaign as he finished with 381 runs @ 47.63/139.05 with 3 50+ scores.

LSG 2023 Captain - KL Rahul

b8pdgl58_kl-rahul-bcci_625x300_16_April_22.jpg (806×605)

KL Rahul will lead the Lucknow SuperGiants in IPL 2023. The Indian international led the franchise to the playoffs in its maiden season last year, where they eventually lost to the Royal Challengers Bangalore in the Eliminator.

GT 2023 Captain - Hardik Pandya

11hardik.jpg (1200×1037)

All-rounder Hardik Pandya led Gujarat Titans to their maiden IPL title in the franchise' debut season last year.

Hardik led from the front with both bat and ball- 487 runs @ 44.27/131.27 & 8 wickets @ 27.75/7.28- and was also adjusted the "Player of the Match- in the summit clash against the Rajasthan Royals for his all-round display.

KKR Team Captain 2023 - Shreyas Iyer

WhatsApp-Image-2023-03-13-at-19.02.27.jpg (690×388)

Shreyas Iyer was supposed to lead the Kolkata Knight Riders in IPL 2023, but owing to his recurring back injury, the Mumbai cricketer's participation is in doubt.

We will update the latest developments from the KKR camp regarding Shreyas' replacement as and when it is announced.

RCB Team Captain 2023 - Faf du Plessis

rcb-launch-their-jersey-for-ipl-2022.jpg (1600×1600)

Faf du Plessis will continue to lead the Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) in IPL 2023 following a decent season last year.

Under Du Plessis, RCB made its way to the playoffs, where they broke their "Eliminators" hoodoo against the Lucknow SuperGiants. They were eventually beaten by eventual finalists, Rajasthan Royals in Q2.

Du Plessis and RCB will aim to go one step ahead in IPL 2023.

DC Team Captain 2023 - David Warner

opoyi_opT4zJlHG-1-scaled.jpg (2560×1707)

Australian opener and IPL-winning skipper David Warner will take over the leadership duties from the injured Rishabh Pant for IPL 2023.

Pant will not be available for the entire season as he is on a long comeback trail following an unfortunate car crash back in December.

Warner has immense experience of leading an IPL team. The southpaw led SRH to their only IPL title in 2016, his leadership and runs at the top were the major reasons behind the franchise becoming a force.

The Capitals will hope that Warner weaves the same magic as captain in IPL 2023.

PBKS Team Captain 2023 - Shikhar Dhawan

Shikhar-Dhawan-Record.jpg (1200×675)

Veteran Indian opener Shikhar Dhawan has replaced Mayank Agarwal as captain of the Punjab Kings for IPL 2023.

Dhawan was one of the main performers for PBKS last year. In 14 games, the southpaw racked up 460 runs @ 38.33/122.67 with 3 50+ scores.

Dhawan has immense experience of leading an IPL team, and Punjab will hope that his experience will revive their franchises' fortunes in 2023.

RR Team Captain 2023 - Sanju Samson

Having led the Rajasthan Royals to the finals for the first time since the inaugural season, Sanju Samson will lead the franchise in 2023, with the burning ambition of becoming the 2nd captain after the Late Great Shane Warne to clinch the title for RR.


Who is the most successful captain in the history of the IPL?

Rohit Sharma, the captain of the Mumbai Indians (MI), is the most successful captain in IPL history, having led the franchise to a whopping 5 titles- 2013, 2015, 2017, 2019 & 2020. Next to him is the legendary Mahendra Singh Dhoni, who has won the prized trophy 'four times'- 2010, 2011, 2018 & 2021- for the Chennai Super Kings.

Who are the captains of IPL 2023?

Rohit Sharma will captain MI, MS Dhoni will captain CSK, Faf du Plessis will captain RCB, David Warner will captain DC, Sanju Samson will captain RR, Shikhar Dhawan will captain PBKS, Aiden Markram will lead SRH, KL Rahul will captain LSG, while Hardik Pandya will lead defending champions, GT.