New User posted their first comment

Rangarajan bags 6 wickets as TNCA Prez XI beats Kerala

Modified 02 Sep 2017, 21:29 IST

Chennai, Sep 2 (PTI) Off-spinner Malolan Rangarajan with a six-wicket haul starred as TNCA President's XI opened its campaign in the All-India Buchi Babu invitation cricket with a win over Kerala here today.

Opting to bat first, Kerala was bundled out for 102 in 42 overs as Rangarajan spun a web around the visiting batsmen, taking six wickets, conceding only 17 runs. Rohan S Kunnummel was the only Kerala batsman to show some resistance with a knock of 53.

Chasing 103 for a win, TNCA President's XI overcame the early loss of openers V Ganga Sridhar Raju and L Suryapprakash and captain Baba Indrajith to secure a win in 36.4 overs on day one of the two-day match.

Baba Aparajith (44 not out) and all-rounder M S Washington Sundar (41) put on 74 runs to see the team through.

In the Uttar Pradesh CA vs Chhattisgarh match, all eyes were on India discard Suresh Raina, who is attempting to make a comeback to the national squad. He lasted just 14 balls and made 16 before falling to left-arm spinner Sumit Ruikar, who finished with five wickets.

A superb, unbeaten 124 off 126 balls by Akshdeep Nath, which included 13 fours and half a dozen sixers, enabled UP make 293 in 64 overs after skipper Raina won the toss. Opener Samarth Singh made a composed 65, which included nine hits to the fence.

Ruikar ran through the lower order to restrict the strong UP team to a moderate score.

In reply, Chhattisgarh was 9 for 1 after losing opener Rishab Choubey, who was bowled by Kartik Tyagi for 8 before rain stopped play.

Half centuries by B Anirudh Sita Ram (90), K Vishal Vaidya (85) and K Mukunth (76) helped TNCA City XI score 339 for 9 against Baroda after winning the toss and choosing to bat.


Sita Ram and Mukunth added 161 runs in 37.5 overs for the second wicket after captain K Bharath Shankar was dismissed for 8.

The opening day of the Group "B" match between TNCA Districts XI and Haryana at SSN College ground was washed out due to wet outfield condition.

Brief scores: Group "A": Kerala 102 in 42 overs (Rohan S Kunnummel 53, Malolan Rangarajan 6 for 17) lost to TNCA President's XI 103 for 4 in 36.4 overs (B Aparajith 44 not out, M S Washington Sundar 41, K M Asif 2 for 17). Points: TNCA President's XI: 4; Kerala: 0.

Group "C": TNCA XI 339 for nine in 90 overs (K Mukunth 76, B Anirudh Sita Ram 90, K Vishal Vaidhya 85, S Lokeshwar 30, Karan Pawar 4 for 74) vs Baroda.

Group "D": UPCA 293 in 64 overs (Samarth Singh 65, Umang Sharma 25, Eklavya Dwivedi 25, Akshdeep Nath 124 not out, Sumit Ruikar 5 for 102, Ajay Mandal 2 for 54 vs Chhattisgarh 9 for 1 in 3.1 overs

Published 02 Sep 2017, 18:58 IST
Fetching more content...
App download animated image Get the free App now
❤ī¸ Favorites Edit