UFC Heavyweight - 2023

Last Modified May 21, 2023 08:18 GMT

Let's look at all you need to know about UFC Heavyweight Division:

UFC Heavyweight Division

The Heavyweight division in Mixed Martial Arts (MMA) generally groups fighters between 206–265 lb (93.4–120.2 kg).

UFC Heavyweight Champion - 2023

Jon Jones is the current UFC Heavyweight Champion. At UFC 285, Jon Jones defeated Ciryl Gane via submission in the first round.

UFC 285: Jones v Gane
UFC 285: Jones v Gane

Latest Results from UFC Heavyweight Division

DateFight Method RoundResult
May 20, 2023Rodrigo Nascimento vs. Ilir LatifiDecision (split)R3 (5:00)Rodrigo Nascimento def. Ilir Latifi

UFC Heavyweight Rankings

RankFighterRecordMWin StreakResultLast fightNext fight
CJon Jones27–1
(1 NC)
(0 def)
WinUFC 285 Ciryl GaneTBD
1Ciryl Gane11–2 0LossUFC 285 Jon JonesTBD
2Sergei Pavlovich18–1 6WinUFC Fight Night 222 Curtis BlaydesTBD
3Stipe Miocic20–4 0LossUFC 260 Francis NgannouTBD
4Curtis Blaydes17–4
(1 NC)
0LossUFC Fight Night 222 Sergei PavlovichTBD
5Tom Aspinall12–3 0LossUFC Fight Night 208 Curtis Blaydes
UFC on ESPN 49 Marcin Tybura
6Tai Tuivasa14–5 0LossUFC on ESPN 42 Sergei PavlovichTBD
7Alexander Volkov36–10 2WinUFC Fight Night 221 Alexander RomanovTBD
8Sergey Spivak16–3 3WinUFC Fight Night 218 Derrick LewisTBD
9Jailton Almeida19–2314WinUFC on ABC 4 Jairzinho RozenstruikTBD
10Marcin Tybura24–7 2WinUFC Fight Night 218 Blagoy Ivanov
UFC on ESPN 49 Tom Aspinall
11Derrick Lewis26–11
(1 NC)
0LossUFC Fight Night 218 Sergey Spivak
UFC 291 Marcos Rogério de Lima
12Jairzinho Rozenstruik13–5−30LossUFC on ABC 4 Jailton AlmeidaTBD
13Chris Daukaus12–6 0LossUFC 282 Jairzinho Rozenstruik
UFC 289 Khalil Rountree Jr.
14Alexander Romanov16–210LossUFC Fight Night 221 Alexander VolkovTBD
15Blagoy Ivanov19–5
(1 NC)
−10LossUFC Fight Night 218 Marcin TyburaTBD

History Of UFC Heavyweight Division

In 1997, the UFC Superfight Championship was unified with the UFC Tournament Championship to determine the UFC Heavyweight Champion, as Mark Coleman defeated Dan Severn at UFC 12.

Notable names such as Randy Couture, Josh Barnett, Frank Mir, Andre Arlovski, Brock Lesnar, Cain Velasquez, Junior Dos Santos, and Fabricio Werdum have all won the UFC Heavyweight Championship.

At UFC 198, Stipe Miocic won the UFC Heavyweight Championship in Brazil. However, at UFC 226, Miocic was beaten by Daniel Cormier to win the Heavyweight Title.

A rematch between Miocic and Daniel Cormier took place on August 17, 2019, at UFC 241 for the UFC Heavyweight Championship. Miocic won the fight by TKO in the fourth round after landing several clean left hooks to the body and following up with punches to the head, reclaiming the title.

Moving on, Francis Ngannou knocked out Stipe Miocic, earning him the heavyweight title on March 2021. Since then, Ngannou successfully defended his title for one time against Ciryl Gane at UFC 270.

In his highly anticipated return, Jon Jones claimed the UFC Heavyweight title by submitting Ciryl Gane in the first round.

See Here: UFC Weight Classes Explained

UFC Weight Divisions


  1. Heavyweight
  2. Light Heavyweight
  3. Middleweight
  4. Welterweight
  5. Lightweight
  6. Featherweight
  7. Bantamweight
  8. Flyweight


  1. Featherweight
  2. Bantamweight
  3. Flyweight
  4. Strawweight

Click to learn about UFC Rankings.

*Last Updated On May 21, 2023


Who is the current UFC heavyweight champion?

Jon "Bones" Jones is the current UFC Heavyweight Champion.

Who is the No.1 ranked fighter in UFC heavyweight?

Ciryl Gane is the No.1 contender in the UFC heavyweight division.

What is the UFC Heavyweight Weight Limit?

The UFC heavyweight division weighs from 206 to 265 lbs (93.4 to 120.2 kg).