UFC Women's Flyweight - 2023

Last Modified Aug 28, 2023 02:11 GMT

Let's look at all you need about UFC Women's Flyweight Division.

Flyweight is a weight class in combat sports. In MMA, the Flyweight division is within 116 - 125 pounds. A flyweight division for women in the UFC has been the need of the hour since time immemorial, with several female fighters competing at 115 and 135 pounds craving the opportunity to fight at their natural weight of 116 - 125 pounds.

The UFC finally relented, introducing the new division in December 2017, where the inaugural title was contested in Las Vegas at the Ultimate Fighter: A new world champion Finale.

UFC Women's Flyweight Champion - 2023

Alexa Grasso is the current UFC women's Flyweight champion.

UFC 285: Jones v Gane
Alexa Grasso

Alexa Grasso became the UFC women's flyweight champion by defeating the former champion Valentina Shevchenko at UFC 285: Jones vs. Gane. The event took place at T-Mobile Arena, Las Vegas, United States, on March 4, 2023.

Latest Results from UFC Women's Flyweight Division

DateFight MethodRound Result
August 26, 2023Erin Blanchfield vs. Taila Santos DecisionR3(5:00)Erin Blanchfield def. Taila Santos
August 26, 2023Liang Na vs. JJ AldrichKO/TKOR2(4:49)JJ Aldrich def. Liang Na

UFC Women's Flyweight Rankings

RankFighterRecordMWin StreakResultLast fightNext fight
CAlexa Grasso16–3 5 (0 def)WinUFC 285 Valentina ShevchenkoTBD
1Valentina Shevchenko23–4 0LossUFC 285 Alexa GrassoTBD
2Manon Fiorot10–1 10WinUFC 280 Katlyn ChookagianTBD
3Taila Santos19–2 0LossUFC 275 Valentina ShevchenkoTBD
4Erin Blanchfield11–1 8WinUFC Fight Night 219 Jéssica AndradeTBD
5Jéssica Andrade24–10 0LossUFC Fight Night 219 Erin Blanchfield
6Katlyn Chookagian18–5 0LossUFC 280 Manon FiorotTBD
7Lauren Murphy16–6 0LossUFC 283 Jéssica AndradeTBD
8Jennifer Maia21–9–1 2WinUFC 286 Casey O'NeillTBD
9Amanda Ribas12–3 1WinUFC 285 Viviane AraújoUFC on ABC 5 Maycee Barber
10Viviane Araújo11–510LossUFC 285 Amanda RibasTBD
11Maycee Barber12–2−14WinUFC on ESPN 43 Andrea LeeUFC on ABC 5 Amanda Ribas
12Casey O'Neill9–1 0LossUFC 286 Jennifer MaiaTBD
13Andrea Lee13–7 0LossUFC on ESPN 43 Maycee BarberTBD
14Tracy Cortez10–1 10WinUFC 274 Melissa GattoTBD
15Miranda Maverick11–4 2WinUFC Fight Night 214 Shanna YoungTBD

History OF UFC Women's Flyweight Division

The inaugural UFC Women's Flyweight Title fight was contested in December in Las Vegas, Nevada, at The Ultimate Fighter: A New World Champion finale. The inaugural title fight was between two fighters who appeared on the 26th season of The Ultimate Fighter, as Nicco Montano defeated Roxanne Modafferi to win and become the inaugural champion.

Montano's withdrawal from UFC 228 due to weight-cut issues led to her being stripped of the title in 2018. Thus Valentina Shevchenko won the vacant title after defeating Joanna Jedrzejczyk at UFC 231. Shevchenko has since defended her title seven times.

Current UFC Women's Flyweight Champion: Valentina Shevchenko [23–3]

Top Female UFC Fighters

  1. Zhang Weili (UFC Women's Strawweight Champion)
  2. Amanda Nunes (UFC Women's Bantamweight and Featherweight Champion)
  3. Valentina Shevchenko (UFC Women's Flyweight Champion)

UFC Weight Divisions


  1. Heavyweight
  2. Light Heavyweight
  3. Middleweight
  4. Welterweight
  5. Lightweight
  6. Featherweight
  7. Bantamweight
  8. Flyweight


  1. Featherweight
  2. Bantamweight
  3. Flyweight
  4. Strawweight

Click to learn about UFC Rankings.

*Last Updated on August 28, 2023.


Who is the current UFC Women's Flyweight Champion?

Alexa Grass is the current UFC women's flyweight champion.

Who is the No.1 ranked fighter in the UFC Women's Flyweight division?

Manon Fiorot is the No.1 ranked fighter in the UFC women's flyweight division.

What is the UFC Women's Flyweight Weight Limit?

The UFC women's flyweight weighs between 116 - 125 pounds.