UFC Middleweight - 2024

Last Modified May 12, 2024 14:21 GMT

The Middleweight Division in Mixed Martial Arts refers to different weight classes. The UFC Middleweight Fighters are generally complete within 171 to 185 lb (77.5 to 84 kg).

UFC Middleweight
UFC Middleweight Champion Dricus Du Plessis Returns Home

Current Middleweight Champion

The current UFC Middleweight Champion is Dricus du Plessis.

Du Plessis became the UFC middleweight champion by defeating Sean Strickland at UFC 297 on January 20, 2024, via a controversial split decision.

Latest Results from UFC Middleweight

Date Fight MethodRoundResult
May 4, 2024 Michel Pereira vs. Ihor PotieriaSubmission (guillotine choke)R1 (0:54)
Michel Pereira def. Ihor Potieria
May 4, 2024 Paul Craig vs. Caio BorralhoKO (punches)R2 (2:10)
Caio Borralho def. Paul Craig



UFC Middleweight Rankings 2024

RankFighterRecordMWin StreakResultLast fightNext fight
CDricus du Plessis21–2 9 (0 def)WinUFC 297 Sean StricklandTBD
1Sean Strickland28–6 0LossUFC 297 Dricus du Plessis
UFC 302 Paulo Costa
2Israel Adesanya24–3 0LossUFC 293 Sean StricklandTBD
3Robert Whittaker25–7 1WinUFC 298 Paulo Costa
UFC on ABC 6 Khamzat Chimaev
4Jared Cannonier17–6 2WinUFC on ESPN 47 Marvin Vettori
UFC on ESPN 57 Nassourdine Imavov
5Marvin Vettori19–7–1 0LossUFC on ESPN 47 Jared CannonierTBD
6Brendan Allen24–5 7WinUFC Fight Night 240 Chris CurtisTBD
7Paulo Costa14–3 0LossUFC 298 Robert Whittaker
UFC 302 Sean Strickland
8Nassourdine Imavov13–4
(1 NC)
1WinUFC Fight Night 235 Roman Dolidze
UFC on ESPN 57 Jared Cannonier
9Jack Hermansson24–811WinUFC Fight Night 236 Joe PyferTBD
10Khamzat Chimaev13–0113WinUFC 294 Kamaru Usman
UFC on ABC 6 Robert Whittaker
11Roman Dolidze12–3−20LossUFC Fight Night 235 Nassourdine ImavovUFC 302 TBA
12Caio Borralho16–1
(1 NC)
213WinUFC 301 Paul CraigTBD
13Michel Pereira31–11
(2 NC)
8WinUFC 301 Ihor PotieriaTBD
14Anthony Hernandez12–2
(1 NC)
−25WinUFC 298 Roman KopylovTBD
15Chris Curtis31–11
(1 NC)
0LossUFC Fight Night 240 Brendan AllenTBD

History of the Middleweight Class

On March 1, 2008, the Pride World Welterweight Championship was unified with the UFC Middleweight Title on March 1, 2008, when Anderson Silva defeated Dan Henderson at UFC 82.

Dave Menne and Rich Franklin have held the Middleweight Title, and at UFC 64, Anderson Silva won the title. Silva defended his title against the likes of Nate Marquardt, Rich Franklin, Dan Henderson, Patrick Cote, Thales Leites, Demian Maia, Chael Sonnen, Vitor Belfort, and Yushin Okami while holding onto the belt for a total of 2,457 days, a record for the longest title reign in UFC history. At UFC 162, Chris Weidman defeated Silva to win the Middleweight Title. Weidman's reign ended when Luke Rockhold beat him at UFC 194.

At UFC 199, Michael Bisping won the Middleweight Title and eventually lost it to the returning GSP at UFC 217. As GSP vacated the title due to complications with ulcerative colitis, on December 7, 2017, Robert Whittaker was promoted as the Middleweight Champion, having won the Interim Title at UFC 213.

At UFC 243, the interim Middleweight Champion Israel Adesanya defeated Robert Whittaker to win the undisputed UFC Middleweight Championship.

Adesanya defended his title against Yoel Romero and Paulo Costa at UFC 248 and UFC 253, respectively.

Sean Strickland defeated Israel Adesanya at UFC 293 and became the new UFC middleweight champion. Unfortunately, Strickland's reign didn't last long, as he lost his first title defense against Dricus du Plessis at UFC 297 via a split decision, making du Plessis the new champion.

UFC Weight Divisions


  1. Heavyweight
  2. Light Heavyweight
  3. Middleweight
  4. Welterweight
  5. Lightweight
  6. Featherweight
  7. Bantamweight
  8. Flyweight


  1. Featherweight
  2. Bantamweight
  3. Flyweight
  4. Strawweight

*Last Updated on May 12, 2024.


Q. Who is the current UFC middleweight champion?

A. Dricus du Plessis is the UFC middleweight champion. 

Q. Who is the No.1 ranked fighter in UFC middleweight?

A. Sean Strickland is the No.1 ranked contender in the UFC middleweight division. 

Q. What is the UFC middleweight division weight limit?

A. The UFC middleweight division weighs 171 to 185 lb (77.5 to 84 kg). 

Q. How are UFC rankings calculated?

A. Select members of the MMA media vote on the official UFC rankings. Their voices are averaged, and the rankings are determined every week.

App download animated image Get the free App now