UFC Welterweight - 2024

Last Modified Feb 11, 2024 10:14 GMT

The UFC Welterweight Division contains a group that weighs 156 to 170 lb (71 to 77 kg). The UFC Welterweight Division is between the Lightweight and Middleweight Division.

UFC 286: Edwards v Usman 3
UFC 286: Edwards v Usman 3

Current Welterweight Champion

The current UFC Welterweight Champion is Leon Edwards [22–3]. 'Rocky' made his octagon debut in 2014. Leon Edwards is the first Jamaican-born fighter to grab a championship in UFC history. He claimed the title in August 2022 when he snapped Kamaru Usman's fight-win streak (15) with a knockout. The win also earned him a Performance of the Night award.

Latest Results from UFC Welterweight Division

DateFight MethodRound Result
February 10, 2024
Trevin Giles vs. Carlos Prates
KO (punch)R2 (4:03)
Carlos Prates def. Trevin Giles
February 10, 2024
Max Griffin vs. Jeremiah Wells
Decision (split) (29–28, 28–29, 29–28)R3 (5:00)
Max Griffin def. Jeremiah Wells



UFC Welterweight Rankings 2024

RankFighterRecordMWin StreakResultLast fightNext fight
CLeon Edwards22–3
(1 NC)
(2 def)
WinUFC 296 Colby CovingtonTBD
1Kamaru Usman20–4 0LossUFC 294 Khamzat ChimaevTBD
2Belal Muhammad23–3
(1 NC)
5WinUFC 288 Gilbert BurnsTBD
3Shavkat Rakhmonov18–0 18WinUFC 296 Stephen ThompsonTBD
4Gilbert Burns22–6 0LossUFC 288 Belal Muhammad
UFC 299 Jack Della Maddalena
5Colby Covington17–4 0LossUFC 296 Leon EdwardsTBD
6Sean Brady16–1 1WinUFC on ESPN 52 Kelvin GastelumTBD
7Stephen Thompson17–7–1−10LossUFC 296 Shavkat RakhmonovTBD
8Geoff Neal15–5 0LossUFC 285 Shavkat Rakhmonov
UFC 298 Ian Machado Garry
9Vicente Luque22–9–1 1WinUFC on ESPN 51 Rafael dos Anjos
UFC Fight Night 241 TBA
10Ian Machado Garry13–0 13WinUFC 292 Neil Magny
UFC 298 Geoff Neal
11Jack Della Maddalena16–2 16WinUFC Fight Night 227 Kevin Holland
UFC 299 Gilbert Burns
12Neil Magny29–11 1WinUFC 297 Mike MalottTBD
13Kevin Holland25–10
(1 NC)
0LossUFC Fight Night 227 Jack Della Maddalena
UFC 299 Michael Page
14Michael Chiesa18–7 0LossUFC 291 Kevin HollandTBD
15Rinat Fakhretdinov21–1–1 0DrawUFC Fight Night 231 Elizeu Zaleski dos SantosTBD

History of UFC Welterweight

The UFC Welterweight Title is considered one of the most prestigious titles in the UFC. The inaugural Welterweight Champion was crowned at UFC Brazil in 1998 when Pat Miletich won the belt. Carlos Newton, Matt Hughes, B.J. Penn, Georges-St Pierre, Matt Serra, Johny Hendricks, and Robbie Lawler held the Welterweight Championship.

GSP and Matt Hughes are the only two-time Welterweight Champions in UFC history.

At UFC 201, Tyron Woodley defeated Robbie Lawler to win the Welterweight Championship. Woodley, who defended the title against Stephen Thompson (twice), Demian Maia, and Darren Till, was defeated by Kamaru Usman at UFC 235 via unanimous decision.

Erstwhile welterweight champion Kamaru Usman defended his title against Colby Covington and Jorge Masvidal at UFC 245 and UFC 251, respectively. During his three-year reign, 'The Nigerian Nightmare' had four successful title defenses before losing to Leon Edwards at UFC 278.

After defeating Kamaru Usman in the fifth round via KO in their rematch at UFC 278, Leon Edwards has become the UFC welterweight champion of the world.

He defended his belt one more time against Kamaru Usman at UFC 286 and for a third time against Colby Covington at UFC 296.

UFC Weight Divisions


  1. Heavyweight
  2. Light Heavyweight
  3. Middleweight
  4. Welterweight
  5. Lightweight
  6. Featherweight
  7. Bantamweight
  8. Flyweight


  1. Featherweight
  2. Bantamweight
  3. Flyweight
  4. Strawweight

Click to learn about UFC Rankings.

*Last Updated on February 11, 2024.


Q. Who is the current UFC welterweight champion?

A. Leon Edwards is the current UFC welterweight champion.

Q. Who is the No.1 ranked fighter in UFC welterweight class?

A. Kamaru Usman is the No.1 contender in the UFC welterweight division.

Q. What is the UFC welterweight class weight limit?

A. The welterweight division weighs 156 to 170 lb (71 to 77 kg).