UFC Light Heavyweight

Last Modified Jun 04, 2023 07:04 GMT

The Light Heavyweight Division is a weight class in combat sports. The UFC Light Heavyweight Division limits between 186.1 lbs to 205 lbs (84 to 93 kg).

Current Light Heavyweight Champion

Jamahal Hill is the new UFC Light Heavyweight Champion after defeating Glover Teixeira at UFC 283 via unanimous decision.

Hill defeats Teixeira at UFC 283 to become the new Light Heavyweight Champion.

Latest Results from UFC Light Heavyweight

Date FightMethodRound Result
June 3, 2023Philipe Lins vs. Maxim GrishinDecision (unanimous)R3 (5:00)Philipe Lins def. Maxim Grishin

UFC Light Heavyweight Rankings 2023

RankFighterRecordMWin StreakResultLast fightNext Fight
CJamahal Hill12–1
(1 NC)
(0 def)
WinUFC 283 Glover TeixeiraTBD
1Jiří Procházka29–3–1 13WinUFC 275 Glover TeixeiraTBD
2Magomed Ankalaev18–1–1 0DrawUFC 282 Jan BłachowiczTBD
3Jan Błachowicz29–9–1 0DrawUFC 282 Magomed Ankalaev
UFC 291 Alex Pereira
4Aleksandar Rakić14–3 0LossUFC on ESPN 36 Jan BłachowiczTBD
5Nikita Krylov30–913WinUFC Fight Night 221 Ryan SpannTBD
6Johnny Walker21–723WinUFC on ABC 4 Anthony SmithTBD
7Anthony Smith36–18−20LossUFC on ABC 4 Johnny WalkerTBD
8Volkan Oezdemir18–7 0LossUFC 280 Nikita KrylovTBD
9Paul Craig16–6–1 0LossUFC 283 Johnny Walker
UFC on ESPN 49 André Muniz
10Ryan Spann21–8 0LossUFC Fight Night 221 Nikita KrylovTBD
11Azamat Murzakanov13–0 13WinUFC on ESPN 44 Dustin JacobyTBD
12Dominick Reyes12–4 0LossUFC 281 Ryan SpannTBD
13 (T)Khalil Rountree Jr.11–5
(1 NC)
3WinUFC Fight Night 213 Dustin Jacoby
UFC 289 Chris Daukaus
13 (T)Jimmy Crute12–3–1 0DrawUFC 284 Alonzo Menifield
UFC 290 Alonzo Menifield
15Dustin Jacoby18–7–1 0LossUFC on ESPN 44 Azamat Murzakanov
UFC Fight Night 225 Kennedy Nzechukwu

History of Light Heavyweight Class

The Light Heavyweight Title was known as the Middleweight Title before UFC 31 (May 4, 2001). In 2007, the Pride World Middleweight Championship was unified with the UFC Light Heavyweight Title when Quinton Jackson defeated Dan Henderson at UFC 75.

The UFC Light Heavyweight Title has been held by the likes of Frank Shamrock, Tito Ortiz, Randy Couture, Vitor Belfort, Chuck Liddell, Quinton Jackson, Forest Griffin, Rashad Evans, Lyoto Machida, and Mauricio Rua.

At UFC 128, Jon Jones won the Light Heavyweight Title for the first time in his career after defeating Mauricio Rua. Jones held the title for 1501 days and defended it eight times before being stripped of it due to a hit-and-run issue. Daniel Cormier won the vacant belt by beating Anthony Johnson at UFC 187.

Cormier, who became the second fighter in UFC history to hold titles in two weight classes simultaneously and is the first to defend them in two divisions, vacated his Light Heavyweight Championship 174 days after winning the Heavyweight title. Jon Jones won the vacant belt for the second time in his career after defeating Alexander Gustafsson. He defended it against Anthony Smith, Thiago Santos, and Dominick Reyes before vacating it to move up to the Heavyweight division.

In his first title defense as champion, Glover Teixeira lost to Jiri Prochazka via rear-naked choke at UFC 275, making Jiri Prochazka the incumbent light heavyweight champion.

Jamahal Hill was crowned as the new UFC Light Heavyweight Champion after defeating Glover Teixeira at UFC 283. Hill is the first fighter in the UFC to become champion after appearing on the Dana White Contender Series.

UFC Weight Divisions


  1. Heavyweight
  2. Light Heavyweight
  3. Middleweight
  4. Welterweight
  5. Lightweight
  6. Featherweight
  7. Bantamweight
  8. Flyweight


  1. Featherweight
  2. Bantamweight
  3. Flyweight
  4. Strawweight

Click to learn about UFC Rankings.

Last Updated On June 4, 2023


Who is the current UFC light heavyweight champion?

Jamahal Hill is the current UFC Light Heavyweight champion.

Who is the No.1 ranked fighter in UFC light heavyweight?

Jiří Procházka is the No.1 contender in the UFC light heavyweight division.

What is the UFC (weight class) Weight Limit?

The UFC light heavyweight division weighs 186.1 lbs to 205 lbs (84 to 93 kg).