UFC Women's Strawweight - 2023

Last Modified Aug 13, 2023 11:28 GMT

The Strawweight Division in MMA generally refers to competitors weighing between 106 and 115 lb (48 to 52 kg).

Let's look at all you need to know about UFC Strawweight Division.

Current UFC Strawweight Champion - 2023

The current UFC Women's Strawweight Champion is Zhang Weili.

UFC 281: Adesanya v Pereira
UFC strawweight champion Zhang Weili at UFC 281: Adesanya v Pereira

Zhang Weili became the UFC women's strawweight champion by defeating the former champion Carla Esparza on November 12, 2022, at UFC 281 at Madison Square Garden, New York, U.S.

Latest Results from UFC Strawweight Division

DateFight MethodRound Result
August 12, 2023Polyana Viana vs. Iasmin LucindoSubmissionR2(3:42)Iasmin Lucindo def. Polyana Viana
August 12, 2023Jaqueline Amorim vs. Monsterrat RuizKO/TKOR3(3:41)Jaqueline Amorim def. Montserrat Ruiz


UFC Strawweight Rankings 2023

RankFighterRecordMWin StreakResultLast fightNext fight
CZhang Weili23–3 2
(0 def)
WinUFC 281 Carla Esparza
UFC 292 Amanda Lemos
1Carla Esparza19–7 0LossUFC 281 Zhang WeiliTBD
2Rose Namajunas11–5 0LossUFC 274 Carla Esparza
UFC on ESPN 53 Manon Fiorot
3Yan Xiaonan17–3
(1 NC)
2WinUFC 288 Jéssica AndradeTBD
4Tatiana Suarez10–0610WinUFC on ESPN 50 Jéssica AndradeTBD
5Amanda Lemos13–2–1−12WinUFC Fight Night 214 Marina Rodriguez
UFC 292 Zhang Weili
6Jéssica Andrade24–12−10LossUFC on ESPN 50 Tatiana SuarezTBD
7Virna Jandiroba19–3−12WinUFC 288 Marina RodriguezTBD
8Mackenzie Dern13–3−11WinUFC Fight Night 223 Angela HillTBD
9Marina Rodriguez16–3–2−10LossUFC 288 Virna JandirobaTBD
10Tecia Torres13–6−10LossUFC 273 Mackenzie DernTBD
11Amanda Ribas12–4 0LossUFC on ABC 5 Maycee BarberTBD
12Luana Pinheiro11–1 9WinUFC 287 Michelle WatersonTBD
13Michelle Waterson18–11 0LossUFC 287 Luana PinheiroTBD
14Tabatha Ricci9–1 4WinUFC on ABC 5 Gillian RobertsonTBD
15Angela Hill15–13 0LossUFC Fight Night 223 Mackenzie DernTBD

History of UFC Strawweight

The inaugural UFC Strawweight Champion was Carla Esparza, who defeated Rose Namajunas in 2014 in the tournament finale for The Ultimate Fighter: A Champion Will Be Crowned.

At UFC 185, Joanna Jedrzejczyk won the Strawweight Championship and held the title for 966 days before losing it to Rose Namajunas at UFC 217.

Jessica Andrade defeated Rose Namajunas at UFC 237 to win the UFC Women's Strawweight Championship but lost it to Zhang Weili at UFC Fight Night: Shenzhen, China. Weili faced former champion Joanna Jedrzejczyk in her first title defense and won via split decision at UFC 248.

Rose Namajunas defeated Zhang Weili at UFC 261.

However, Carla Esparza won over Rose Namajunas at UFC 274 and is became the Women's Strawweight Champion on May 7, 2022.

UFC Weight Divisions


  1. Heavyweight
  2. Light Heavyweight
  3. Middleweight
  4. Welterweight
  5. Lightweight
  6. Featherweight
  7. Bantamweight
  8. Flyweight


  1. Featherweight
  2. Bantamweight
  3. Flyweight
  4. Strawweight

Click to learn about UFC Rankings.

* Last Updated: on August 13, 2023.


Who is the current UFC strawweight champion?

Zhang Weili is the current UFC strawweight champion.

Who is the No.1 ranked fighter in UFC strawweight?

Carla Esparza is the No.1 contender in the women's strawweight division. 

What is the UFC strawweight division weight limit?

The UFC strawweight division weighs between 106 and 115 lb (48 to 52 kg).