Asian Games 2018 Tennis

Tennis is a major sport of the Asian Games and has been a part of the multi-sport event since 1958. Men’s and women’s singles, men’s and women’s doubles and men’s and women’s mixed doubles have been played since the event’s introduction. However, men’s and women’s team events were first introduced in 1962 and have been a part of Asian Games ever since.

Japan has majorly dominated the medal tally by a total of 79 medals, 27 out of which are gold. South Korea occupy the second spot with 51 medals, including 16 gold. China are 3rd on the leaderboard with 46 medals including 11 gold, followed by Indonesia and India on the fourth and fifth spots with a total of 42 and 29 medals respectively.

Asian Games 2018 Tennis

The 2018 Asian Games Tennis events will be held at the JSC Tennis Court, Palembang, Indonesia from 19 to 25 August 2018.

The AITF announced it’s 12 member team which will go for the Asian Games 2018. The men’s team will include Leander Paes, Rohan Bopanna, Ramkumar Ramanathan, Prajnesh Gunneswaran, Sumit Nagal and Divij Sharan. On the other hand, women’s team has Ankita Raina, Karman Kaur Thandi, Rutuja Bhosale, Pranjala Yadlapalli, Riya Bhatia and Prarthana Thombare. The inclusion of Leander Paes shows India has gone all out to better its performance from the previous edition of the Asian Games.

2014 Asian Games Tennis Results

Yoshihito Nishioka of Japan won the men’s singles competition to earn gold medal for his country, while Lu Yen-hsun was the runner-up with silver medal. Japan’s Yuichi Sugita and India’s Yuki Bhambri won the bronze medal.

China managed to pick up a gold with Wang Qiang in the women’s singles competition, while Luksika Kumkhum of Thailand was the runner-up with a silver.

In men’s doubles, Chung Hyeon and Lim Yong-kyu of South Korea picked up the gold medal by defeating Indian duo Saketh Myneni and Sanam Singh.

Thailand’s Luksika Kumkhum and Tamarine Tanasugarn won the gold medal in the women’s doubles event, with Hsieh Su-wei and Chan Chin-wei of Chinese Taipei winning the silver. India’s Sania Mirza and Prarthana Thombare won the bronze.

Indian mixed doubles duo Saketh Myneni and Sania Mirza won the gold in the mixed doubles category, followed by Peng Hsien-yin and Chan Hao-ching of Chinese Taipei on the second spot.