Create
Notifications
New User posted their first comment
Advertisement

BREAKING NEWS: Djokovic defaulted from US Open for hitting linesperson with ball

NovakDjokovic - Cropped
Serbian Novak Djokovic
Omnisport
NEWS
Modified 07 Sep 2020, 01:54 IST
News
Advertisement

Novak Djokovic was sensationally defaulted from the US Open after hitting a linesperson with the ball during his fourth-round match against Pablo Carreno Busta.

World number one Djokovic was the clear favourite to win the grand slam at Flushing Meadows but remarkably exited the tournament on Sunday.

After dropping serve to fall 6-5 behind in the first set, Djokovic fired a ball behind him and hit the linesperson.

The woman audibly gasped for air as the Serbian immediately apologised, joining another judge in helping her.

The victory was awarded to Carreno Busta following a lengthy conversation between the match referees and Djokovic, who could be heard saying: "I understand, you have no choice."

Published 07 Sep 2020, 01:54 IST
Advertisement
Fetching more content...
Get the free App now
❤️ Favorites Edit