UFC Women's Flyweight - 2023

Last Modified Jan 22, 2023 16:45 IST

Let's look at all you need about UFC Women's Flyweight Division.

Flyweight is a weight class in combat sports. In MMA, the Flyweight division is within 116 - 125 pounds. A flyweight division for women in the UFC has been the need of the hour since time immemorial, with several female fighters competing at 115 and 135 pounds craving the opportunity to fight at their natural weight of 116 - 125 pounds.

The UFC finally relented, introducing the new division in December 2017, where the inaugural title was contested in Las Vegas at the Ultimate Fighter: A new world champion Finale.

UFC Women's Flyweight Champion - 2022

Valentina Shevchenko is the current UFC women's Flyweight champion.

UFC 275: Shevchenko v Santos
UFC women's flyweight champion Valentina Shevchenko at UFC 275

Valentina Shevchenko is the second champion of the division since its inaugural title bout. She became the flyweight champion on December 8, 2018, by fighting against Joanna Jędrzejczyk at UFC 231 in Toronto, Canada. Since then, 'Bullet' has consecutively defended the title seven times, of which the last one was for UFC 275: Texeira vs. Prochazka against Taila Santos on June 11, 2022.

Latest Results from UFC Women's Flyweight Division


DateFight MethodRound Result
January 21, 2023Lauren Murphy vs. Jessica AndradeDecision R3 (5:00)Jessica Andrade def. Lauren Murphy

UFC Women's Flyweight Rankings

RankFighterRecordMWin StreakResultLast fightNext fight
CValentina Shevchenko23–3 9 (7 def)WinUFC 275 - Taila SantosTBD
1Manon Fiorot10–1 10WinUFC 280 - Katlyn ChookagianTBD
2Taila Santos19–2 0LossUFC 275 - Valentina ShevchenkoTBD
3Katlyn Chookagian18–5 0LossUFC 280 - Manon FiorotTBD
4Lauren Murphy16–5 1WinUFC on ABC 3 - Miesha TateUFC 283 - Jéssica Andrade
5Alexa Grasso15–3 4WinUFC Fight Night 212 - Viviane AraújoTBD
6Jéssica Andrade23–9 2WinUFC Fight Night 205 - Amanda LemosUFC 283 - Lauren Murphy
7Viviane Araújo11–4 0LossUFC Fight Night 212 - Alexa GrassoTBD
8Jennifer Maia19–9–1 0LossUFC on ESPN 33 - Manon FiorotUFC Fight Night 215 - Maryna Moroz
9Andrea Lee13–6 0LossUFC on ESPN 36 - Viviane AraújoTBD
10Erin Blanchfield10–127WinUFC 281 - Molly McCannTBD
11Casey O'Neill9–0−19WinUFC 271 - Roxanne ModafferiTBD
12Maycee Barber11–2−13WinUFC 276 - Jessica EyeTBD
13Tracy Cortez10–1 10WinUFC 274 - Melissa GattoUFC on ESPN 42 - Amanda Ribas
14Cynthia Calvillo9–5–1 0LossUFC on ESPN 41 - Nina NunesTBD
15Amanda Ribas11-3-0LossUFC on ESPN 36 - Katlyn ChookagianUFC 285 - Viviane Araujo

History OF UFC Women's Flyweight Division

The inaugural UFC Women's Flyweight Title fight was contested in December in Las Vegas, Nevada, at The Ultimate Fighter: A New World Champion finale. The inaugural title fight was between two fighters who appeared on the 26th season of The Ultimate Fighter, as Nicco Montano defeated Roxanne Modafferi to win and become the inaugural champion.

Montano's withdrawal from UFC 228 due to weight-cut issues led to her being stripped of the title in 2018. Thus Valentina Shevchenko won the vacant title after defeating Joanna Jedrzejczyk at UFC 231. Shevchenko has since defended her title seven times.

Current UFC Women's Flyweight Champion: Valentina Shevchenko [23–3]

FAQs on UFC Women's Flyweight

Q1. Who is the current UFC Women's Flyweight Champion?

Valentina Shevchenko is the current UFC women's flyweight champion.

Q2. Who is the No.1 ranked fighter in the UFC Women's Flyweight division?

Manon Fiorot is the No.1 ranked fighter in the UFC women's flyweight division.

Q3. What is the UFC Women's Flyweight Weight Limit?

The UFC women's flyweight weighs between 116 - 125 pounds.

Top Female UFC Fighters

  1. Zhang Weili (UFC Women's Strawweight Champion)
  2. Amanda Nunes (UFC Women's Bantamweight and Featherweight Champion)
  3. Valentina Shevchenko (UFC Women's Flyweight Champion)

UFC Weight Divisions


  1. Heavyweight
  2. Light Heavyweight
  3. Middleweight
  4. Welterweight
  5. Lightweight
  6. Featherweight
  7. Bantamweight
  8. Flyweight


  1. Featherweight
  2. Bantamweight
  3. Flyweight
  4. Strawweight

Click to learn about UFC Rankings.

*Last Updated on January 22, 2023.