Favorites Edit

Mihika stuns Rishika in round one of tennis tournament

129   //    07 Feb 2018, 19:22 IST

Mumbai, Feb 7 (PTI) Women's third seed Rishika Sunkara of Delhi suffered a straight-sets first round defeat against unseeded Mihika Yadav of Maharashtra in the AITA Ranking Rs 22 lakh prize money JVPG Anirudh Desai All-India Open Tennis Tournament today.

The 19-year-old Mihika, from Maharashtra, had things much her own way against the 24-year-old Rishika and coasted to a comfortable 6-1 6-0 victory at the suburban Juhu Vile Parle Gymkhana courts.

Top seeds in singles - Arjun Kadhe of Maharashtra and Mahak Jain of Madhya Pradesh - both sailed into the quarter- finals of the respective mens and womens singles events.

The Pune-based Kadhe prevailed over Dhakshineswar Suresh of Tamil Nadu 6-4 7-5, while Mahak powered her way to a 6-0 6-1 victory over state rival Sara Yadav in second round ties.

Elsewhere, 43-year-old Nitten Kirrtane of Maharashtra made a second round exit, going down in straight sets to 21- year-old state mate Jayesh Punglia.

Kirrtane, who upset fifth seed Hardeep Singh Sandhu in the first round, was unable to sustain the winning momentum and suffered a 3-6 1-6 loss against his much younger opponent.

Fourth seed Kunal Anand of Delhi and seventh seed Siddharth Vishwakarma of Chandigarh took contrasting routes to the quarter-finals.

Anand outplayed Shubham Malhotra of Delhi 6-2 6-3, while Vishwakarma quelled the stiff challenge of Abhinav Sanjeev of Tamil Nadu 6-3 3-6 7-5.

Meanwhile, third seed Manish Sureshkumar (TN) and Peranamallur Vignesh (AP), both won their mens first round encounters.

Sureshkumar whipped unseeded Paras Dhaiya of Haryana 6-2 6-2, while Vignesh rallied well to sideline Anvit Bendre of Maharashtra 3-6 6-4 6-3.


Women's singles (2nd round): 1-Mahak Jain bt Sara Yadav 6-0 6-1; 2-Sai Samhitha bt Arushi Vikram Bhasin 6-0 6-1; 1st round: Mihika Yadav bt 3-Rishika Sunkara 6-1, 6-0; Dakshata Patel bt 7-Shweta C Rana 6-1, 6-2.

Men's singles (2nd round): 1-Arjun Kadhe bt Dhakshineswar Suresh 6-4, 7-5; 7-Siddharth Vishwakarma bt Abhinav Sanjeev 6-3, 3-6, 7-5; 4-Kunal Anand bt Shubham Malhotra 6-2, 6-3; Jayesh Pungliya bt Nitten Kirrtane 6-3, 6-1; 1st round: Abhinav Sanjeev bt Vilasier Khate 6-4, 6-1; Peranamallur Vignesh bt Anvit Bendre 3-6, 6-4, 6-3; 3-Manish Sureshkumar bt Paras Dahiya 6-2, 6-2

Press Trust of India (PTI) is a news agency in India
Fetching more content...