Dallas Mavericks


Full NameDallas Mavericks

Nick NameThe Mavs


GroundAmerican Airlines Center

Prominent PlayersLuka Doncic, Kristaps Porzingis, Tim Hardaway Jr., Dwight Powell, Willie Cauley-Stein, Seth Curry, Dorian Finney-Smith


The Dallas Mavericks are an American Basketball team competing in the Western Conference Southeast division of the NBA. The Mavs, as the team is often called, was founded in 1980 and plays its home games at the American Airlines Center. The Mavericks have won One NBA Championship and Two Western Conference titles.

Mavericks history

The Mavs qualified for the Playoffs five times in a row between 1983 and 1988, reaching the conference finals once in 1988. In the nineties, Mavericks could not reach Playoffs even once and it was the worst period in the history of the franchise. Mavericks acquired Dirk Nowitzki in 1998 and qualified for the Playoffs twelve times in a row starting from 2000. In 2006, the team won its first Conference title and reached the finals, where they lost to the Miami Heat. In 2011, the Mavericks won their first NBA Championship beating Miami Heat 4-2 in the NBA Finals.Some of the prominent players to have played for the Dallas Mavericks include Jason Kidd, Dennis Rodman, Steve Nash etc.

Mavericks in recent years

Mavericks returned to the playoffs during the 2013-14 season. During the 2014 off season, they made number of moves which included Tyson Chandler and Raymond Felton from the New York Knicks, sending Calderón, Dalembert, Shane Larkin, and Wayne Ellington as well as two-second-round draft picks. Nowitzki also took a pay cut and re-signed for the three years.

Despite trying to re-structure their squad, the Mavericks have failed to make a playoff appearance since 2016. With the addition of Luka Doncic and Kristaps Porzingis, the Mavericks will be proper contenders for years to come.

Dallas Mavericks Record - Last 10 Seasons

SeasonDivision FinishConference FinishRecordPlayoffs
2018-19 5th 14th 33-49 -
2015-162nd6th42-40Lost First Round
2014-154th7th50-32Lost First Round
2013-144th8th49-33Lost First Round
2011-123rd7th36-30Lost First Round
2010-112nd3rd57-25Won NBA Finals
2009-101st2nd55-27Lost First Round
Fetching more content...
App download animated image Get the free App now