Dallas Mavericks


Full NameDallas Mavericks

Nick NameThe Mavs


GroundAmerican Airlines Center

Prominent PlayersLuka Doncic, Kristaps Porzingis, Tim Hardaway Jr., Dwight Powell, Willie Cauley-Stein, Reggie Bullock, Dorian Finney-Smith


The Dallas Mavericks are an American Basketball team competing in the Western Conference Southeast division of the NBA. The Mavs, as the team is often called, was founded in 1980 and plays its home games at the American Airlines Center. The Mavericks have won One NBA Championship and Two Western Conference titles.

Mavericks history

The Mavs qualified for the Playoffs five times in a row between 1983 and 1988, reaching the conference finals once in 1988. In the nineties, Mavericks did not reach the Playoffs even once and it was the worst period in the history of the franchise. Mavericks acquired Dirk Nowitzki in 1998 and qualified for the Playoffs twelve times in a row starting from 2000. In 2006, the team won its first Conference title and reached the finals, where they lost to the Miami Heat. In 2011, the Mavericks won their first NBA Championship beating Miami Heat 4-2 in the NBA Finals.Some of the prominent players to have played for the Dallas Mavericks include Dirk Nowitzki, Jason Kidd, Dennis Rodman, Steve Nash.

Mavericks in recent years

The Mavericks returned to the playoffs during the 2013-14 season. During the 2014 off season, they made a number of moves which included acquiring Tyson Chandler and Raymond Felton from the New York Knicks and sending Calderón, Dalembert, Shane Larkin, and Wayne Ellington as well as two-second-round draft picks. Nowitzki also took a pay cut and re-signed for three more years.

The 2018 NBA Draft was a turning point. They traded up to the 3rd pick and drafted Luka Dončić. With the addition of Luka Dončić and Kristaps Porziņģis, the Mavericks were able to make it to playoffs but have been bounced in the first round by the Clippers in consecutive years.

Dallas Mavericks Record - Last 10 Seasons

SeasonDivision FinishConference FinishRecordPlayoffs
2020-211st5th42-30Lost First Round
2019-202nd7th43-32Lost First Round
2015-162nd6th42-40Lost First Round
2014-154th7th50-32Lost First Round
2013-144th8th49-33Lost First Round
2011-123rd7th36-30Lost First Round
2010-112nd3rd57-25Won NBA Finals
2009-101st2nd55-27Lost First Round

NBA Championships

2011- The Dallas Mavericks finished the regular season with a 57-25 record. On the way to the finals, they beat the Portland Trail Blazers, the Los Angeles Lakers, and the Oklahoma City Thunder. Under the leadership of Rick Carlisle, the Mavs beat the Miami Heat in six games. Dirk Nowitzki won the NBA Finals MVP.

Current Roster

Sl. No.PlayerPositionJersey No.
1Luka DončićForward77
2Kristaps PorziņģisCenter6
3Moses BrownCenter9
4Sterling BrownGuard0
5Jalen BrunsonGuard13
6Reggie BullockForward25
7Trey BurkeGuard3
8Willie Cauley-SteinCenter33
9Dorian Finney-SmithForward10
10Josh GreenGuard8
11Tim Hardaway Jr.Guard11
12Maxi KleberForward42
13Boban MarjanovićCenter51
14JaQuori McLaughlinGuard30
15Frank NtilikinaGuard21
16Eugene OmoyuriForward2
17Dwight PowellCenter7

Head Coach: Jason Kidd

Fetching more content...