Philadelphia 76ers


Full NamePhiladelphia 76ers

Nick NameSixers


GroundWells Fargo Center

Prominent PlayersJoel Embiid, Ben Simmons, Seth Curry, Matisse Thybulle, Andre Drummond, Tobias Harris


The Philadelphia 76ers are an American professional Basketball team competing in Eastern Conference Atlantic division of the NBA. The Sixers, as the team from Philadelphia is commonly known, were founded in 1946 and play their home games at Wells Fargo Center.

76ers history

The Philadelphia 76ers were founded in 1963 as the Syracuse Nationals. Philadelphia 76ers have won 3 NBA Championships and 9 Conference titles. The Sixers' best performance was during the Wilt Chamberlain era and during which they won a Championship and a Conference Title. Some of the prominent players to have played for the Sixers include Allen Iverson, Dikembe Mutombo, Wilt Chamberlain, Julius Erving, Moses Malone etc. The first championship came in 1955, the second championship was won in 1967 during the Wilt Chamberlain era and the final championship victory came in 1983, in a team led by Erving and Malone.

76ers in recent years

The latest rebuild done by the 76ers came after drafting Joel Embiid in the 2014 NBA Draft as the fourth overall pick. The team endured a difficult campaign as they lost 18 straight games and ended up 14th in the East. The following season was once again a major disappointment as they finished last in the Eastern Conference.

The next season saw the 76ers drafting Ben Simmons as the first overall pick. Furkan Korkmaz was also recruited as the 26th overall pick by Philly. This was a turning point in the 76ers history as they went from a bottom conference side to a relevant, competitive team. The very next season was their most successful since the 2011-12 as they finished third that season and only lost the Conference Semifinals.

The 2018-19 season was only an impressive outing for the Philly side as they finished third in the regular season and only losing to the eventual champions Toronto Raptors after a buzzer beater from Kawhi Leonard.

Their 2019-2020 season showed the loss of Jimmy Butler as they slumped to a 43-30 record, finishing 6th in the East. Albeit Ben and Joel were injured for stretches.

The 2020-2021 started off with inspired offseason moves. They also hired Doc Rivers as their new head coach and Daryl Morey as their President of Basketball Operations. They ended up with the first seed in the east but lost to the Atlanta Hawks who were considered underdogs.

Philadelphia 76ers Record - Last 10 Seasons

SeasonDivision FinishConference FinishRecordPlayoffs
2020-211st1st52-20Lost Conf Semifinals
2019-203rd6th43-30Lost First Round
2018-192nd3rd51-31Lost Conf Semifinals
2017-183rd3rd52-30Lost Conf Semifinals
2011-123rd8th35-31Lost Conf Semifinals


The Philadelphia 76ers have won 3 NBA Championships. They won their championships in 1955, 1967, and 1983. Notable players who were part of the winning teams were Wilt Chamberlain, Julius Erving, Moses Malone, Adolph Schayes. The coaches who won were Al Cervi, Alex Hannum, Billy Cunningham.

Current Roster

Sl. No.PlayerPositionJersey No.
1Joel EmbiidCenter21
2Tyrese MaxeyGuard0
3Ben SimmonsForward25
4Furkan KorkmazGuard30
5Danny GreenForward14
6Matisse ThybulleGuard22
7Tobias HarrisGuard12
8Seth CurryGuard31
9Andre DrummondCenter1
10Isiah JoeGuard7
11Shake MiltonGuard18
12Paul ReedForward44
13Charles BasseyCenter23
14Georges NiangForward20
15Jaden SpringerGuard11
16Grant RillerGuard5
17Aaron HenryForward50

Head Coach: Doc Rivers

Fetching more content...