French Open Men's Singles Winners

French Open Men's Singles Winners
Rafael Nadal (Image credits: Rafael Nadal's Instagram)

The French Open is one of the four grand slam tournaments, and is played after the Australian Open each year. Before 1975, the French Open, also known as Roland Garros, was the only Grand Slam tournament not played on grass.

The French Open is played on outdoor clay courts, which are known for their slower pace, and higher bounce, leading to longer rallies. This is why the French Open is considered one of the toughest and most physically demanding tournaments in tennis.

This article lists all the French Open men's singles winners in the Open Era:

Men's Singles French Open Winners (Open Era)

2023Novak Djokovic Serbia
2022Rafael Nadal Spain
2021Novak Djokovic Serbia
2020Rafael Nadal Spain
2019Rafael Nadal Spain
2018Rafael Nadal Spain
2017Rafael Nadal Spain
2016Novak Djokovic Serbia
2015Stan WawrinkaSwitzerland
2014Rafael NadalSpain
2013Rafael NadalSpain
2012Rafael NadalSpain
2011Rafael NadalSpain
2010Rafael NadalSpain
2009Roger FedererSwitzerland
2008Rafael Nadal Spain
2007Rafael Nadal Spain
2006Rafael Nadal Spain
2005Rafael Nadal Spain
2004Gaston GaudioArgentina
2003Juan Carlos FerreroSpain
2002Albert CostaSpain
2001Gustavo KuertenBrazil
2000Gustavo KuertenBrazil
1999Andre AgassiUnited States
1998Carlos MoyaSpain
1997Gustavo KuertenBrazil
1996Yevgeny KafelnikovRussia
1995Thomas Muster Austria
1994Sergi BrugueraSpain
1993Sergi BrugueraSpain
1992Jim CourierUnited States
1991Jim CourierUnited States
1990Andres GomezEcuador
1989Michael ChangUnited States
1988Mats WilanderSweden
1987Ivan LendlUnited States
1986Ivan LendlUnited States
1985Mats WilanderSweden
1984Ivan LendlUnited States
1983Yannick NoahFrance
1982Mats WilanderSweden
1981Bjorn BorgSweden
1980Bjorn BorgSweden
1979Bjorn BorgSweden
1978Bjorn BorgSweden
1977Guillermo VilasArgentina
1976Adriano PanattaItaly
1975Bjorn BorgSweden
1974Bjorn BorgSweden
1973Ilie NastaseRomania
1972Andres GimenoSpain
1971Jan KodesCzechia
1970Jan KodesCzechia
1969Rod Laver Australia
1968Ken Rosewall Australia

FAQ's On French Open Men's Singles Winners

Q. What are the four Grand Slams in tennis?

A. Australian Open, French Open, Wimbledon, and US Open are the four Grand Slams in tennis.

Q. Who is the most successful player in the French Open History?

A. Rafael Nadal is the most successful player in the French Open History, with 14 titles till date.

Q. Who won the French Open men's final in 2023?

A. Novak Djokovic won the 2023 French Open.

Q. How many times did Federer win the French Open?

A. Roger Federer won his first and only French Open title in 2009. 

Q. How many times has Djokovic won the French Open?

A. Novak Djokovic has won the French Open title three times in his career. 

App download animated image Get the free App now