Lakers Championship Rings

Lakers Championship Rings
Lakers Championship Rings

How many rings do the Lakers have?

The Los Angeles Lakers have won a total of 17 rings and are tied with the Boston Celtics for the most championships in NBA history.

Lakers Championship Rings
Lakers Championship Rings

Lakers Championship Rings History

The most historic and successful franchise in NBA history, the Los Angeles Lakers have been the stalwarts of the modern basketball world. From Wilt Chamberlain and Jerry West to Kareem Abdul Jabbar and Magic Johnson to Shaq and Kobe to now having LeBron James and AD the history of the Purple and Gold has been littered with superstars, who have helped this franchise win a whopping 17 NBA Championships.

Apart from having some of the greatest players on their roster over the years, the Los Angeles Lakers have also been blessed to have been associated with some of the best coaches in the game. Phil Jackson and Pat Riley, two of the greatest basketball minds of all-time have a massive footprint in the Lakers' success.

It’s not always been sunshine and rainbows, the Los Angeles Lakers have won a bunch of championships, the majority of them in successive years but have also suffered long spells that have been bereft of any tangible success.

Apart from its historic past, the Los Angeles Lakers franchise has always been an attractive destination for players across the league. While some of that has to do with the beautiful weather that the city of LA has to offer but in some parts, it’s also due to how the Lakers have treated their players over the years.

Kobe Bryant is probably the biggest example of this. Everyone knew once Kobe had his Achilles injury that it would be impossible for him to come back the way he was earlier. However, the Los Angeles Lakers still decided to give him a massive contract during the final years of his career, which eventually stalled them from making any moves, which could benefit the franchise once the Black Mamba called it quits.

The Los Angeles Lakers are a family-based, well-run, and successful organization that has a rich history of winning NBA championships and acquiring superstar players.

What years did the Lakers win their rings?

The Lakers have won 17 championships in 1949, 1950, 1952, 1953, 1954, 1972, 1980, 1982, 1985, 1987, 1988, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2009, 2010, and 2020.

1947-58: The dominance of George Malkin led the Lakers to 5 straight championships back in the 50s. George Malkin led the league in points and in rebounds in multiple seasons during that period. The Lakers played in Minneapolis and were known as the Minneapolis Lakers.

1968-73: The Wilt Chamberlain years full of personal records and jaw-dropping stats from Wilt and from Jerry West, the duo had a formidable presence in the league and were able to capture the first championship for the Lakers in LA in 1972.

1978-91: The showtime Lakers had arrived. The Lakers had drafted Magic Johnson in 1979 and they already had Kareem Abdul Jabbar on their roster. That very year in Magic’s rookie season the Lakers won the first of their five championships of the Showtime era. The Celtics-Lakers rivalry dominated the NBA in the 80s and the Lakers went on to win five rings in total in that time period.

1996-04: The Lakers signed Shaquille O’Neal in 96 and acquired Kobe Bryant from Charlotte. The rest is history as the arguably most dominant duo of all time 3-peated at the start of the millennium but personal clashes split the team apart in 2004.

2007-11: Kobe’s final run at the championships with Pau Gasol as his running mate now. The duo was very successful making 3 straight finals appearances and winning 2 of them in the process. He won the 2010 title against their archrivals Boston Celtics.

2019-20: The Lakers acquired Anthony Davis from the New Orleans Pelicans in 2019 and under the leadership of LeBron James and new head coach Frank Vogel won the 2020 NBA championships amidst a pandemic.

Lakers Championship Rings
Lakers Championship Rings

Which Laker has the most rings?

Kareem Abdul Jabbar, Magic Johnson, and Kobe Bryant have won five rings each with the LA Lakers.

How many championships have the Lakers won in LA?

The Los Angeles Lakers have won 12 of their 17 championships in LA, their first 5 championships came while playing in Minneapolis.

How many rings do the Lakers have vs. the Celtics?

The Lakers and Celtics are tied having won 17 NBA Championships each. The Lakers have an upper hand in the modern era and have won 11 rings to the Celtics 6. The two storied franchises have met in the NBA Finals 12 times and the Lakers have won three of them (1985, 1987, 2010).

LA Lakers NBA Playoffs history

The Los Angeles Lakers have made the NBA playoffs a total of 62 times as of the 2022-2023 season. This is tied for the most playoff appearances of any NBA team, along with the Boston Celtics. The Lakers have won a total of 17 NBA championships, which is also tied with the Celtics for the most in NBA history.

Playoffs Appearances62
Early exits

Finals Appearances

First Round

Conference Semifinals*

Conference Finals*

NBA Finals








Q. Do Lakers players get to keep their championship rings?

A. Yes, Lakers players and other members of the team who receive championship rings get the chance to keep them as a symbol of their achievement. Many players choose to display their rings in their homes or at their team's facilities.

Q. How many championship rings do the Lakers have?

A. The Los Angeles Lakers have won a total of 17 NBA championships, which means they have 17 championship rings.

Q. What championship ring has the most diamonds?

A. The Rams ring is the Champion ring with the greatest diamond carat weight in history. A total of 20 carats of white diamonds are used in the ring, which is made of both white and yellow gold.

Q. Q. Who gets championship rings on the Lakers?

A. A. Typically, all members of the winning team and coaching staff receive championship rings. This includes players, coaches, assistant coaches, trainers, and other members of the team who played a role in the team's success.