List of Super Bowl Winners By Year

Super Bowl Winners by Year
KCC Head Coach Andy Reid after winning the Super Bowl LVIII

The Super Bowl is the biggest game in the United States from all the sports leagues. As it is a one-off game where the winner takes everything, it comes with a lot of excitement and viewership. Winning even one Super Bowl is considered to be a great accomplishment as the journey toward the final destination is a long and gruesome one. However, there are a few teams and players that have managed to win it multiple times. This article will take a look at all the Super Bowl winners from Super Bowl I to the latest one being Super Bowl LVII in 2023.

Here's the list of all Super Bowl winners:

I15-January-1967Green Bay Packers35–10Kansas City Chiefs
II14-January-1968Green Bay Packers33–14Oakland Raiders
III12-January-1969New York Jets16–7Baltimore Colts
IV11-January-1970Kansas City Chiefs23–7Minnesota Vikings
V17-January-1971Baltimore Colts16–13Dallas Cowboys
VI16-January-1972Dallas Cowboys24–3Miami Dolphins
VII14-January-1973Miami Dolphins14–7Washington Redskins
VIII13-January-1974Miami Dolphins24–7Minnesota Vikings
IX12-January-1975Pittsburgh Steelers16–6Minnesota Vikings
X18-January-1976Pittsburgh Steelers21–17Dallas Cowboys
XI9-January-1977Oakland Raiders32–14Minnesota Vikings
XII15-January-1978Dallas Cowboys27–10Denver Broncos
XIII21-January-1979Pittsburgh Steelers35–31Dallas Cowboys
XIV20-January-1980Pittsburgh Steelers31–19Los Angeles Rams
XV25-January-1981Oakland Raiders27–10Philadelphia Eagles
XVI24-January-1982San Francisco 49ers26–21Cincinnati Bengals
XVII30-January-1983Washington Redskins27–17Miami Dolphins
XVIII22-January-1984Los Angeles Raiders38–9Washington Redskins
XIX20-January-1985San Francisco 49ers38–16Miami Dolphins
XX26-January-1986Chicago Bears46–10New England Patriots
XXI25-January-1987New York Giants39–20Denver Broncos
XXII31-January-1988Washington Redskins42–10Denver Broncos
XXIII22-January-1989San Francisco 49ers20–16Cincinnati Bengals
XXIV28-January-1990San Francisco 49ers55–10Denver Broncos
XXV27-January-1991New York Giants20–19Buffalo Bills
XXVI26-January-1992Washington Redskins37–24Buffalo Bills
XXVII31-January-1993Dallas Cowboys52–17Buffalo Bills
XXVIII30-January-1994Dallas Cowboys30–13Buffalo Bills
XXIX29-January-1995San Francisco 49ers49–26San Diego Chargers
XXX28-January-1996Dallas Cowboys27–17Pittsburgh Steelers
XXXI26-January-1997Green Bay Packers35–21New England Patriots
XXXII25-January-1998Denver Broncos31–24Green Bay Packers
XXXIII31-January-1999Denver Broncos34–19Atlanta Falcons
XXXIV30-January-2000St. Louis Rams23–16Tennessee Titans
XXXV28-January-2001Baltimore Ravens34–7New York Giants
XXXVI3-February-2002New England Patriots20–17St. Louis Rams
XXXVII26-January-2003Tampa Bay Buccaneers48–21Oakland Raiders
XXXVIII1-February-2004New England Patriots32–29Carolina Panthers
XXXIX6-February-2005New England Patriots24–21Philadelphia Eagles
XL5-February-2006Pittsburgh Steelers21–10Seattle Seahawks
XLI4-February-2007Indianapolis Colts29–17Chicago Bears
XLII3-February-2008New York Giants17–14New England Patriots
XLIII1-February-2009Pittsburgh Steelers27–23Arizona Cardinals
XLIV7-February-2010New Orleans Saints31–17Indianapolis Colts
XLV6-February-2011Green Bay Packers31–25Pittsburgh Steelers
XLVI5-February-2012New York Giants21–17New England Patriots
XLVII3-February-2013Baltimore Ravens34–31San Francisco 49ers
XLVIII2-February-2014Seattle Seahawks43–8Denver Broncos
XLIX1-February-2015New England Patriots28–24Seattle Seahawks
507-February-2016Denver Broncos24–10Carolina Panthers
LI5-February-2017New England Patriots34–28 (OT)Atlanta Falcons
LII4-February-2018Philadelphia Eagles41–33New England Patriots
LIII3-February-2019New England Patriots13-3Los Angeles Rams
LIV2-February-2020Kansas City Chiefs31-20San Francisco 49ers
LV7-February-2021Tampa Bay Buccaneers31-9Kansas City Chiefs
LVI13-February-2022Los Angeles Rams23-20Cincinnati Bengals
LVII12-February-2023Kansas City Chiefs38-35Philadelphia Eagles
LVIII11-February-2024Kansas City Chiefs25-22San Francisco 49ers

Most Super Bowl Wins

As in all team sports, there are always a few teams that have had more success than others when it comes to winning the Super Bowl. Fifteen franchises have won more than one Super Bowl to date, while another five of them have had the pleasure of lifting one Lombardi Trophy. Winning even one Super Bowl is a huge task for all the teams as many things have to fall in place from having the right personnel and staff to practicing and developing different strategies for every opponent, to executing the plans to perfection on game days.

Having said that, the most successful teams are able to achieve this year after year and that is why they are at the top of the table when it comes to the most Super Bowls won in the history of the NFL. the teams that have won the most Super Bowls are the Pittsburgh Steelers and the New England Patriots with 6 apiece, while the Dallas Cowboys and the San Francisco 49ers are close behind with 5 each.

After their exploits of the Super Bowl LVIII, the Kansas City Chiefs have climbed up the charts and are tied with the Giants and Packers with 4 Super Bowl victories. Under their head coach Andy Reid, Mahomes and co. have won the Lombardi trophy 3 times from their 4 appearances in the last 5 years.

Super Bowls WonTeam(s)
6Pittsburgh Steelers, New England Patriots
5San Francisco 49ers, Dallas Cowboys
4New York Giants, Green Bay Packers, Kansas City Chiefs
3Los Angeles/Oakland Raiders, Washington Redskins, Denver Broncos
2Baltimore/Indianapolis Colts, Miami Dolphins, Baltimore Ravens, Los Angeles/St. Louis Rams, Tampa Bay Buccaneers
1New York Jets, New Orleans Saints, Chicago Bears, Seattle Seahawks, Philadelphia Eagles

FAQs on NFL Super Bowl

Q. Who won the very first Super Bowl?

A. The Green Bay Packers defeated the Kansas City Chiefs 35-10 in Super Bowl I.

Q. Which teams have won the most Super Bowls?

A. The Pittsburgh Steelers and the New England Patriots have each won six Super Bowls which is the most for a franchise.

Q. Which was the latest Super Bowl?

A. The latest Super Bowl was played on 11th February 2024. The Kansas City Chiefs defeated the San Francisco 49ers in overtime (25-22) in Super Bowl LVIII.

Q. Which player has the most rings?

A. Tom Brady has the most Super Bowl rings as a player with seven.

Q. When does the Super Bowl take place?

A. The Super Bowl is the last game of the NFL season and in typically takes place on the second Sunday of February as per the latest schedule.