What is the prize money for the FIBA World Cup 2023 winners?

FIBA World Cup Trophy and Match Ball
Image credit: Getty Images

The FIBA World Cup is the most prestigious event in international basketball, with teams from all over the world competing for the coveted title of world champion. Along with the thrill of victory and the honor of representing their countries on the world stage, there's also a significant amount of prize money involved for the winning team.

After the Summer Olympics, the FIBA World Cup is by far the world's largest basketball tournament. The tournament is regarded as the world's most prestigious basketball competition, outside of the Olympic Games.

The FIBA World Cup is not only a showcase of the best basketball talent in the world, but also a significant financial opportunity for the victorious team. As we look forward to the 2023 tournament, the excitement of the event and the prestigious nature of the title will be matched by the prize money that comes with it.

It will be played from August 25, 2023, to September 10, 2023, and will be jointly hosted by the Philippines, Japan, and Indonesia. Spain will be defending their title having beaten Argentina in the FIBA World Cup 2019. 32 teams from all over the globe are participating in FIBA World Cup 2023.

FIBA World Cup Winners
Image credit: Getty Images

Prize money for the FIBA World Cup 2023

The prize money for the FIBA World Cup 2023 winner has yet to be officially announced, but we can look at the prize money awarded in the previous tournaments to get an idea of what the winners can expect to receive.

In the most recent FIBA World Cup, held in 2019 in China, the prize money pool was a record $15 million, with the winning team receiving $2.5 million. The runner-up team received $1.5 million while the third and fourth-placed teams received $1.2 million each. The breakdown of the prize money for the 2019 World Cup was as follows:

- Winner: $2.5 million USD

- Runner-Up: $1.5 million USD

- Third and Fourth Place: $1.2 million USD each

- Fifth to Eighth Place: $800,000 USD each

- Ninth to Sixteenth Place: $550,000 USD each

- Seventeenth to Thirty-Second Place: $200,000 USD each

The prize money for the 2014 FIBA World Cup held in Spain was also $ 15 million, but it was divided up differently than the 2019 event. The winners of that tournament received $ 1 million, while the runner-up team received $ 600,000, and the third and fourth-placed teams received $ 350,000 each.

The prize money for the FIBA World Cup 2023 will likely be in the range of $ 15 million or more, with the exact amount depending on various factors such as sponsorships and broadcasting deals. The first-placed team can expect to receive the lion's share of the money, with the amount likely to be in the range of $2.5 to $ 3 million. There will also be cash awards for the runners-up and other high-ranked teams, ensuring that all teams that make it to the latter stages of the tournament receive a significant financial reward.


Q. Where is the FIBA Men's World Cup 2023?

A. The tournament will be hosted by the Philippines, Japan, and Indonesia.

Q. What is the full form of FIBA?

A. FIBA stands for The International Basketball Federation (Fédération Internationale de basket-ball), which is an association of national organizations that governs the sport of basketball worldwide.

Q. How many countries qualify for the FIBA World Cup?

A. 32 team has qualified to play in the FIBA World Cup.

​Q. Which country has the most World Cup basketball?

A. Yugoslavia and USA have won the FIBA World Cup 5 times.