Indiana Pacers


Full NameIndiana Pacers

Nick NamePacers


GroundBankers Life Fieldhouse

Prominent PlayersVictor Oladipo, Malcolm Brogdon, Domantas Sabonis, Myles Turner


The Indiana Pacers are an American Basketball team competing in the Eastern Conference Central Division of the NBA. The Pacers were established in 1967 and play their home games at Bankers Life Fieldhouse. Indiana Pacers are one of the 13 teams to have never won an NBA Championship.

Pacers history

The Pacers were part of the ABA from 1967-76 and won 3 ABA Championships in the early seventies. Pacers became a member of NBA in 1976 and struggled initially in the NBA failing to reach the Playoffs till 1981. The team from Indianapolis drafted Reggie Miller in 1987 and the Pacers were a major playoff contender during late eighties and early nineties. The Indiana Pacers reached the Conference finals twice in a row in 1993-94 season and 1994-95 season, losing both the finals. Pacers won their first and only Conference final in 1999-00, but went on to lose against the Lakers in the NBA Finals. Some of the most prominent players to have played for the Pacers include Reggie Miller, George McGinnis etc.

Pacers in recent years

With Frank Vogel as the head coach and the franchise drafting Paul George with the 10th overall pick, the Pacers clinched their first playoff spot as the team was built around Lance Stephenson and Paul George. They eventually lost to the Chicago Bulls in the first round of the post season but it was something to build upon with a young core and Vogel leading the charge.

They acquired George Hill, and Leandro Barbosa from the Toronto Raptors. The team was led by Danny Granger as the primary scorer, and they once again made the post season. They defeated the Orlando Magic in the first round but lost to the Miami Heat in the semifinals as Heat won 4-2.

The Pacers went even deeper in the playoffs the next season, as they had the third best record in the NBA which read 49-32. En route to the Conference finals, they beat the Atlanta Hawks, and New York Knicks before meeting the Miami Heat. They lost the series in seven games. The very next season was pretty much the replica of the previous one as the Pacers once again lost to the Miami Heat in the finals.

With Paul Goerge suffering a catastrophic injury, the Pacers struggled very much and missed the playoffs. However, the next season saw them return to the playoffs only to be eliminated in the first round. The next couple of seasons were disappointments as they continued to exit from the first round. Paul George eventually moved on and the franchise is built around Victor Oladipo.

Indiana Pacers Record - Last 10 Seasons

SeasonDivision FinishConference FinishRecordPlayoffs
2018-19 2nd 5th 48-34 Lost First Round
2017-182nd5th48-34Lost First Round
2016-173rd7th42-40Lost First Round
2015-162nd7th45-37Lost First Round
2013-141st1st56-26Lost Conf Finals
2012-131st3rd49-32Lost Conf Finals
2011-122nd3rd42-24Lost Conf Semifinals
2010-112nd8th37-45Lost First Round
Fetching more content...