NFL Draft Picks: Number One Overall Draft Picks Over The Years

Last Modified Apr 29, 2019 11:05 GMT

Here is the list of all number one overall NFL draft picks over the years:

YearPlayerSelected byPositionCollege
1936Jay BerwangerPhiladelphia EaglesHalfbackChicago
1937Sam FrancisPhiladelphia EaglesFullbackNebraska
1938Corbett DavisCleveland RamsFullbackIndiana
1939Ki AldrichChicago CardinalsCenterTCU
1940George CafegoChicago CardinalsHalfbackTennessee
1941Tom HarmonChicago BearsHalfbackMichigan
1942Bill DudleyPittsburgh SteelersHalfbackVirginia
1943Frank SinkwichDetroit LionsHalfbackGeorgia
1944Angelo BertelliBoston YanksQuarterbackNotre Dame
1945Charley TrippiChicago CardinalsHalfbackGeorgia
1946Frank DancewiczBoston YanksQuarterbackNotre Dame
1947Bob FenimoreChicago BearsHalfbackOklahoma A&M
1948Harry GilmerWashington RedskinsQuarterbackAlabama
1949Chuck BednarikPhiladelphia EaglesCenter/LinebackerPenn
1950Leon HartDetroit LionsEnd/FullbackNotre Dame
1951Kyle RoteNew York GiantsHalfbackSMU
1952Bill WadeLos Angeles RamsQuarterbackVanderbilt
1953Harry BabcockSan Francisco 49ersEnd/Wide ReceiverGeorgia
1954Bobby GarrettCleveland BrownsQuarterbackStanford
1955George ShawBaltimore ColtsQuarterbackOregon
1956Gary GlickPittsburgh SteelersDefensive BackColorado A&M
1957Paul HornungGreen Bay PackersHalfbackNotre Dame
1958King HillChicago CardinalsQuarterbackRice
1959Randy DuncanGreen Bay PackersQuarterbackIowa
1960Billy CannonLos Angeles RamsRunning BackLSU
1961Tommy MasonMinnesota VikingsRunning BackTulane
1962Ernie DavisWashington RedskinsRunning BackSyracuse
1963Terry BakerLos Angeles RamsQuarterbackOregon State
1964Dave ParksSan Francisco 49ersWide ReceiverTexas Tech
1965Tucker FredericksonNew York GiantsRunning BackAuburn
1966Tommy NobisAtlanta FalconsLinebackerTexas
1967Bubba SmithBaltimore ColtsDefensive EndMichigan State
1968Ron YaryMinnesota VikingsOffensive TackleUSC
1969O. J. SimpsonBuffalo BillsRunning BackUSC
1970Terry BradshawPittsburgh SteelersQuarterbackLouisiana Tech
1971Jim PlunkettNew England PatriotsQuarterbackStanford
1972Walt PatulskiBuffalo BillsDefensive EndNotre Dame
1973John MatuszakHouston OilersDefensive EndTampa
1974Ed JonesDallas CowboysDefensive EndTennessee State
1975Steve BartkowskiAtlanta FalconsQuarterbackCalifornia
1976Lee Roy SelmonTampa Bay BuccaneersDefensive EndOklahoma
1977Ricky BellTampa Bay BuccaneersRunning BackUSC
1978Earl CampbellHouston OilersRunning BackTexas
1979Tom CousineauBuffalo BillsLinebackerOhio State
1980Billy SimsDetroit LionsRunning BackOklahoma
1981George RogersNew Orleans SaintsRunning BackSouth Carolina
1982Kenneth SimsNew England PatriotsDefensive EndTexas
1983John ElwayBaltimore ColtsQuarterbackStanford
1984Irving FryarNew England PatriotsWide ReceiverNebraska
1985Bruce SmithBuffalo BillsDefensive EndVirginia Tech
1986Bo JacksonTampa Bay BuccaneersRunning BackAuburn
1987Vinny TestaverdeTampa Bay BuccaneersQuarterbackMiami (FL)
1988Aundray BruceAtlanta FalconsLinebackerAuburn
1989Troy AikmanDallas CowboysQuarterbackUCLA
1990Jeff GeorgeIndianapolis ColtsQuarterbackIllinois
1991Russell MarylandDallas CowboysDefensive TackleMiami (FL)
1992Steve EmtmanIndianapolis ColtsDefensive EndWashington
1993Drew BledsoeNew England PatriotsQuarterbackWashington State
1994Dan WilkinsonCincinnati BengalsDefensive TackleOhio State
1995Ki-Jana CarterCincinnati BengalsRunning BackPenn State
1996Keyshawn JohnsonNew York JetsWide ReceiverUSC
1997Orlando PaceSt. Louis RamsOffensive TackleOhio State
1998Peyton ManningIndianapolis ColtsQuarterbackTennessee
1999Tim CouchCleveland BrownsQuarterbackKentucky
2000Courtney BrownCleveland BrownsDefensive EndPenn State
2001Michael VickAtlanta FalconsQuarterbackVirginia Tech
2002David CarrHouston TexansQuarterbackFresno State
2003Carson PalmerCincinnati BengalsQuarterbackUSC
2004Eli ManningSan Diego ChargersQuarterbackOle Miss
2005Alex SmithSan Francisco 49ersQuarterbackUtah
2006Mario WilliamsHouston TexansDefensive EndNorth Carolina State
2007JaMarcus RussellOakland RaidersQuarterbackLSU
2008Jake LongMiami DolphinsOffensive TackleMichigan
2009Matthew StaffordDetroit LionsQuarterbackGeorgia
2010Sam BradfordSt. Louis RamsQuarterbackOklahoma
2011Cam NewtonCarolina PanthersQuarterbackAuburn
2012Andrew LuckIndianapolis ColtsQuarterbackStanford
2013Eric FisherKansas City ChiefsOffensive TackleCentral Michigan
2014Jadeveon ClowneyHouston TexansDefensive EndSouth Carolina
2015Jameis WinstonTampa Bay BuccaneersQuarterbackFlorida State
2016Jared GoffLos Angeles RamsQuarterbackCalifornia
2017Myles GarrettCleveland BrownsDefensive EndTexas A&M
2018Baker MayfieldCleveland BrownsQuarterbackOklahoma
2019Kyler MurrayArizona CardinalsQuarterbackOklahoma

It is as they say, while it doesn't matter whether it's a hit or a bust, everyone remembers the number one overall draft pick, especially when it comes to the NFL Draft.

While not all number one overall picks have gone on to meet their potential, there are quite a few legends of the game as well as future hall of famers who were snapped up with this pick. Many of them have gone on to represent their sides in the Super Bowl while also winning multiple Vince Lombardi trophies. The likes of Peyton Manning, Troy Aikman, Terry Bradshaw and Eli Manning are prime examples of that.

The number one overall pick was held by the Arizona Cardinals in the 2019 NFL Draft and they used the same to draft Kyler Murray from Oklahoma. One can only hope that his production matches his talent.