Favorites Edit

Dalmiya re-elected as CAB president

1.23K   //    31 Jul 2013, 19:30 IST

Jagmohan Dalmiya – Back in power

Seasoned sports administrator and Indian cricket board acting chief Jagmohan Dalmiya was, on Wednesday, re-elected unopposed for another term as Cricket Association of Bengal (CAB) president.

The 82nd Annual General Meeting of the CAB at the Eden Gardens was a drab affair with the official panel winning unchallenged. Subir Ganguly and Sujan Mukherjee continued to be the joint secretaries, while Biswarup Dey would remain the treasurer.

Even last year, Dalmiya faced a challenger in his age-old rival Samar Pal, but had little difficulty in sailing though 104-14.

Seventy three year old Dalmiya, a former International Cricket Council chief, has been heading the cash-rich CAB since 1993, except for a 19-month hiatus after he resigned in December 2006 on being expelled from the Board of Control for Cricket in India for alleged embezzlement of funds. But he rode back in style in 2008 defeating the incumbent Prasun Mukherjee.

Former Indian captain Sourav Ganguly was the star attraction at the AGM representing Barisha Sporting, the club in his locality of Behala.

The only change in the CAB was the election – unanimous – of former BCCI joint secretary Gautam Dasgupta as trustee board chairman. The four other members to the trustee board are also new – Russi Jeejeebhoy, Samar Kar, Shibaji Roy and Shivkumar Kalyani.

Office Bearers: President: Jagmohan Dalmiya. Vice-Presidents: Alok Nandi, Sambhu Nath Poddar, Malay Basu, Subhas Kundu. Joint-Secretaries: Sujan Mukherjee, Subir Ganguly. Treasurer: Biswarup Dey. Board of Trustees: Gautam Dasgupta (chairman), Shibaji Roy, Shivkumar Kalyani, Russi Jeejeebhoy, Samar Kar.

Fetching more content...